Turbo Mode

This forum is for topics specific to the Raspberry Pi and Arch Linux ARM

Turbo Mode

Postby km3k » Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:53 pm

I recently read about "turbo mode" at http://www.raspberrypi.org/archives/2008 . It sounds like this is using cpufreq. What's the recommended procedure for setting up an equivalent to this in Arch Linux ARM?
km3k
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:49 pm

Re: Turbo Mode

Postby WarheadsSE » Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:08 pm

I'll reply as I did here: viewtopic.php?f=31&t=3776&p=21492#p21491

It will be pulled in very soon, don't worry :)
OXNAS pwner

Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 4822
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: Turbo Mode

Postby km3k » Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:27 pm

Thanks!
km3k
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:49 pm

Re: Turbo Mode

Postby pepedog » Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:41 pm

the -5 kernel is set to performance, ie what you set for overclock in config.txt applies
-6 kernel is set for build now, ondemand is default govenor, so when idle it uses hardware 700Mhz clock, when thrashed goes to config.txt setting, unless temp rises and it cuts back . At least this is what I made of it all. Not pleased I wasn't forwarned and this was coming. Only had to change config from performance to ondemand though
Alex (asb) made https://github.com/asb/raspi-config but it has these depends
whiptail, parted, lua5.1, triggerhappy
So if someone wants to package whiptail, triggerhappy, and raspi-config

Or manually, you put one of these in /boot/config.txt
None
Code: Select all
arm_freq=700
core_freq=250
sdram_freq=400
over_voltage=0

Modest
Code: Select all
arm_freq=800
core_freq=300
sdram_freq=400
over_voltage=0

Medium
Code: Select all
arm_freq=900
core_freq=333
sdram_freq=450
over_voltage=2

High
Code: Select all
arm_freq=950
core_freq=450
sdram_freq=450
over_voltage=6

Turbo
Code: Select all
arm_freq=1000
core_freq=500
sdram_freq=500
over_voltage=6

Can't test until kernel -6 built, but
cat sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
should say ondemand
Can't say I need raspi-config myself

Install cpufrequtils and then cpufreq-info should be interesting
Edit: (if you can't wait)
Code: Select all
[root@alarmpi ~]# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
performance
[root@alarmpi ~]# echo "ondemand" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
[root@alarmpi ~]# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
ondemand
pepedog
Developer
 
Posts: 2090
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Turbo Mode

Postby Huulivoide » Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:30 am

pepedog wrote:Install cpufrequtils and then cpufreq-info should be interesting

Insead of cpufreq-utils you should install cpupower as it has depecated cpufreq-utils.
Huulivoide
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 6:22 pm

Re: Turbo Mode

Postby guisacouto » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:56 pm

What about the 85º C temperature limit? I don't see where this is referred in this configs, so I presume that if we just use this settings, the frequency won't get reduced to 700mhz in case we reach the maximum temperature..
guisacouto
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: Turbo Mode

Postby pepedog » Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:23 pm

I suppose this the case. Please correct me if I'm wrong, Dom has viewed my post and said my understanding is correct
pepedog
Developer
 
Posts: 2090
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Turbo Mode

Postby guisacouto » Sun Sep 30, 2012 7:04 pm

Well..maybe there's something in the firmware that disables the OC when the temperature rises to 85.. tks for the quick answer!
guisacouto
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: Turbo Mode

Postby pepedog » Sun Sep 30, 2012 7:54 pm

I think that must be the case, originally I pawed throught the raspian/debian setup tool to try to get it working on arch, but then had to make sense of it
pepedog
Developer
 
Posts: 2090
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Turbo Mode

Postby stronnag » Mon Oct 01, 2012 4:29 pm

In raspian (I guess), temperature appears to be available from /sys/class/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp (at least from a monitoring script found in the RPi fora). If this is the case, could we have this exposed in the next Arch kernel please?
stronnag
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:51 am

Next

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests