[SOLVED] yaourt: 'strip binary required' error message

Ask questions about Arch Linux ARM. Please search before making a new topic.

[SOLVED] yaourt: 'strip binary required' error message

Postby chiz » Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:52 am

Hi everyone,

My first post and cry for help. :(

I'm a total noob when it comes to Linux and installing packages. Started just last week and managed to get a POGO-E02 media server running using Qui's excellent guide (http://blog.qnology.com/2013/03/tutoria ... linux.html). At the moment, I have the server running Logitech Media Server and Squeezelite and I can hear music from the Behringer U-CONTROL UCA202 DAC after some troubleshooting why the soundcard would intermittently be detected by the system.

Long story short, I'm trying to install alsaequal and got as far as getting package-query and yaourt installed. Even gotten to modifying the alsaequal PKGBUILD to update the arch=('arm') element.

Then, I ran into issue with yaourt generating the error message below. Now, I'm stuck on how to resolve this issue.

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '==> Building and installing package
==> WARNING: Building package as root is dangerous.
Please run yaourt as a non-privileged user.
==> ERROR: Cannot find the strip binary required for object file stripping.
==> ERROR: Makepkg was unable to build alsaequal.
==> Restart building alsaequal ? [y/N]
==> ----------------------------------')

Really appreciate any help or tips. Thanks!
Last edited by chiz on Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
chiz
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:04 am

Re: yaourt: 'strip binary required' error message

Postby WarheadsSE » Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:33 pm

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
pacman -S pkgfile
pkgfile --update
pkgfile strip
pacman -S <package>
')
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: yaourt: 'strip binary required' error message

Postby chiz » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:51 pm

Thanks for the response, WarheadsSE.

However, I seem to be missing something here. I tried all the commands you posted, except that I'm not sure at the last instruction. Posting the results of my execution of the instructions:

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '[root@alarm tmp]# pacman -S pkgfile
warning: pkgfile-10-1 is up to date -- reinstalling
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Packages (1): pkgfile-10-1

Total Installed Size: 0.20 MiB
Net Upgrade Size: 0.00 MiB

:: Proceed with installation? [Y/n] Y
(1/1) checking keys in keyring [######################] 100%
(1/1) checking package integrity [######################] 100%
(1/1) loading package files [######################] 100%
(1/1) checking for file conflicts [######################] 100%
(1/1) checking available disk space [######################] 100%
(1/1) reinstalling pkgfile [######################] 100%


[root@alarm tmp]# pkgfile --update
:: Updating 5 repos...
community is up to date
core is up to date
extra is up to date
download complete: alarm [ 14.1 KiB 27.5K/s 1 remaining]
download complete: aur [ 146.3 KiB 150K/s 0 remaining]
:: download complete in 0.97s < 160.3 KiB 165K/s 2 files >
:: waiting for 1 process to finish repacking repos...


[root@alarm tmp]# pkgfile strip
core/binutils
core/mkinitcpio


[root@alarm tmp]# pacman -S alsaequal
error: target not found: alsaequal
[root@alarm tmp]#
')
chiz
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:04 am

Re: yaourt: 'strip binary required' error message

Postby chiz » Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:27 am

I made significant progress!

It appears I need to install A LOT of packages as the strip binary is really a component needed in order to recompile alsaequal. Had to install base-devel and so many stuff, e.g., GCC, MAKE, etc., thanks to pacman.

Finally was able to build the package for alsaequal and install it. Now, when I run alsamixer for alsaequal, I get the following error:

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '[root@alarm ~]# alsamixer -D equal
Failed to load plugin "/usr/lib/ladspa/caps.so": /usr/lib/ladspa/caps.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
[root@alarm ~]#
')

I've read in the AUR that caps is needed so I went ahead and downloaded from the source (http://quitte.de/dsp/caps.html#Download), got the PKGBUILD file from AUR and compiled caps.

After a long wait, here's what I got:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '[root@alarm caps-0.9.16]# makepkg --asroot
==> Making package: caps 0.9.10-1 (Sat Nov 16 00:09:53 MST 2013)
==> Checking runtime dependencies...
==> Checking buildtime dependencies...
==> Retrieving sources...
-> Found caps_0.9.10.tar.bz2
==> Validating source files with md5sums...
caps_0.9.10.tar.bz2 ... Passed
==> Extracting sources...
-> Extracting caps_0.9.10.tar.bz2 with bsdtar
==> Starting prepare()...
==> Removing existing pkg/ directory...
==> Starting build()...
g++ -O6 -ffast-math -funroll-loops -Wall -fPIC -DPIC -o White.o -c White.cc
g++ -O6 -ffast-math -funroll-loops -Wall -fPIC -DPIC -o Eq.o -c Eq.cc
g++ -O6 -ffast-math -funroll-loops -Wall -fPIC -DPIC -o ToneStack.o -c ToneStack.cc
g++ -O6 -ffast-math -funroll-loops -Wall -fPIC -DPIC -o AutoFilter.o -c AutoFilter.cc
g++ -O6 -ffast-math -funroll-loops -Wall -fPIC -DPIC -o Sin.o -c Sin.cc
g++ -O6 -ffast-math -funroll-loops -Wall -fPIC -DPIC -o Saturate.o -c Saturate.cc
g++ -O6 -ffast-math -funroll-loops -Wall -fPIC -DPIC -o Fractals.o -c Fractals.cc
g++ -O6 -ffast-math -funroll-loops -Wall -fPIC -DPIC -o Amp.o -c Amp.cc
g++ -O6 -ffast-math -funroll-loops -Wall -fPIC -DPIC -o Phaser.o -c Phaser.cc
g++ -O6 -ffast-math -funroll-loops -Wall -fPIC -DPIC -o Click.o -c Click.cc
In file included from Cabinet.h:43:0,
from Click.cc:158:
dsp/v4f.h:33:23: fatal error: xmmintrin.h: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
Makefile:50: recipe for target 'Click.o' failed
make: *** [Click.o] Error 1
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in build().
Aborting...
[root@alarm caps-0.9.16]')

More debugging adventures to come I guess. I'll continue another day.
chiz
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:04 am

Re: yaourt: 'strip binary required' error message

Postby chiz » Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:45 am

I finally got alsaequal working and even posted a short how-to on this thread: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6473

Requesting the moderators to close this topic. Thanks!
chiz
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:04 am

Re: yaourt: 'strip binary required' error message

Postby WarheadsSE » Tue Nov 19, 2013 2:00 pm

Edit your OP, change the subject.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm


Return to User Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests