set time-date on boot

Ask questions about Arch Linux ARM. Please search before making a new topic.

set time-date on boot

Postby quantum1024 » Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:00 pm

hi, my name is Fred and i'm brand new to the arch linux forum,

i bought a beagleboard ver c2 in 2009, and since then i have been playing with it on and off. this week i changed over to arch linux but i noticed something strange. install went great, very smooth and easy, i'm at linux root promt. everything cool so far.

the time is 18:00:00 the date is 1969 and it says i'm in MNT time zone. i'm in eastern time zone. :o

i really didn't think i aged that much but, well maybe...

so i set the date-time and presumed saved it, but when i booted it it came back to the default above.
This version of beagle board does not contain a RTC or battery backup, i'm now looking at building a 1307rtc and connecting it to the i2c bus.

in the meantime however during the setups and such for a temporary fix, is there a way to set time-date at boot somewhere, say a few lines of code in one of the boot files??? this would help greatly.

Thanks in advance for any help!
quantum1024

Re: set time-date on boot

Postby WarheadsSE » Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:21 pm

Are you using a network connection?

If so, add this to the bottom of your netctl profile:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'ExecUpPost='/usr/bin/ntpd -gq || true'')

If not, look at fake-hwclock.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer

Postby quantum1024 » Tue Feb 25, 2014 3:10 pm

the beagleboard that i have does not have any network connection. i have to install a wireless usb device after i get Xfce installed and possibly some drivers. i had networking before but only in the gui. angstrom.

pacman -Sy fake-hwclock

systemctl enable fake-hwclock

AH!!! THANK YOU! just what i was looking for. i'll try this and let you know. :D
quantum1024

Postby quantum1024 » Tue Feb 25, 2014 7:38 pm