Forcing DF bit in ipv4

Ask questions about Arch Linux ARM. Please search before making a new topic.

Forcing DF bit in ipv4

Postby rikkic » Mon Nov 24, 2014 3:38 pm

Hi, I'm new to arch linux arm but am currently using a Cubox-i4pro for a project.
One of the specifications on this project is that the Don't Fragment (DF) flag be set on all outgoing packets. In fedora 20 I have found I can do this by disabling PMTU discovery. But the same command does work on the cubox.
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'echo -n 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_no_pmtu_disc')

Anyone have any advice on what to try next?

Any help is much appreciated!
Last edited by rikkic on Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:07 am, edited 2 times in total.
rikkic
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 3:32 pm

Re: Forcing DF bit in ipv4

Postby pepedog » Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:06 pm

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'echo "net.ipv4.ip_no_pmtu_disc = 0" > /etc/sysctl.d/99-pmtu.conf')
Or something like that
pepedog
Developer
 
Posts: 2431
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Forcing DF bit in ipv4

Postby rikkic » Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:31 am

Hi thanks for your help, I looked into sysctl and found the command was:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'sysctl -w net.ipv4.ip_no_pmtu_disc=1')
Much appreciated!
rikkic
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 3:32 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Forcing DF bit in ipv4

Postby pepedog » Tue Nov 25, 2014 4:50 pm

If you want it on boot, putting it into a conf file in /etc/sysctl.d/ like I described would do it
pepedog
Developer
 
Posts: 2431
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Forcing DF bit in ipv4

Postby rikkic » Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:09 am

Hi,

I've just been monitoring my device on wireshark and have noticed that not all packets are sent with the DF bit, any chance you'd know of anywhere else where the DF bit can be forced to '1'?
rikkic
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 3:32 pm


Return to User Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests