4.4.97-1-ARCH wrong NAND chip timing in the DTS? NSA310 NAS

Problems with packages? Post here, using [tags] of the package name.

4.4.97-1-ARCH wrong NAND chip timing in the DTS? NSA310 NAS

Postby arti74 » Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:07 pm

Hello experts
I hope this is a good place for this question.
I have installed the Archlinux ARM for my Zyxel device from this package: https://archlinuxarm.org/platforms/armv5/zyxel-nsa320.
Dmesg shows nand errors on every single block of this chip and it's most likely due to a wrong chip timing in the DTS (I'm not so smart alone to deduce that, I found couple examples on the internet, with the same problem, although in Debian system).
I don't want to copy paste everything I wrote regarding this problem in other places - all the logs and details you'll find here https://forum.doozan.com/read.php?3,58144 and here https://archlinuxarm.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=12717
What can I say... I need help with this, and I have no experience beside a basic usage of archlinux.
arti74

Re: 4.4.97-1-ARCH wrong NAND chip timing in the DTS? NSA310

Postby summers » Tue May 01, 2018 8:36 am

Good call of you and bodhi, yes wrong timing would explain errors you get, so good idea to back off.

Two ways to do it (they are general, not arch specific):
1) recompile the device tree
2) have uboot modify the device tree

Now the problem with 1) is it needs to be redone every time the kernel is updated, as new device tree blobs come with every kernel. This means my preferred method is 2), I've done this on both BBB and Odroid c2, both of which needed at times device tree modification.