U-Boot gets stuck at boot from MMC

Discussion about U-Boot and the kernel.

U-Boot gets stuck at boot from MMC

Postby Rethfor » Sun Aug 29, 2021 6:04 pm

Hi everybody, first I must say I'm a very beginner at subjects like bootloaders. There is a SOM variscite card (VAR-SOM-MX7) that I need to flash the latest Debian. I followed the official tutorial at https://variwiki.com/index.php?title=Debian_Build_Release&release=RELEASE_BUSTER_V1.2_VAR-SOM-MX7 and used a micro SD card for boot process (The SOM is on a custom carrier btw). Prepared SD card successfully but when I boot the SOM from SD card U-Boot just freeze at step as I show below. I couldn't find any solution on the Internet so I'd appreciate any help.
Screenshot from 2021-08-29 18-14-55.png
Screenshot from 2021-08-29 18-14-55.png (41.11 KiB) Viewed 8309 times
Rethfor

Re: U-Boot gets stuck at boot from MMC

Postby summers » Mon Aug 30, 2021 9:09 am

This sounds like a Debian problem, rather than an Arch one.

Anyway, interrupt the boot loader, and type commands by hand - and see whats wrong. "help" is usually the command to start with ...
summers

Postby Rethfor » Mon Aug 30, 2021 9:26 am

$this->bbcode_second_pass_quote('summers', 'T')his sounds like a Debian problem, rather than an Arch one.

Anyway, interrupt the boot loader, and type commands by hand - and see whats wrong. "help" is usually the command to start with ...

I can't even get to point where I can interrupt the boot loader, it just hangs there. I think maybe this is because U-Boot doesn't select the right mmc to initialize (like I showed before, it says trying to boot from mmc1 but SD card is on mmc0) but I don't know how can I change this, any idea?
Rethfor

Postby summers » Mon Aug 30, 2021 10:59 am

Usually uboot has delays built into it - hitting any key them drops you into the boot loader command line.

Usually hammering the space key during boot will do it. This should be before the mmc are scanned etc ...
summers