Installation in an Android Chroot

Install Arch Linux ARM on other devices.

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby cyberic » Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:28 am

try:
Code: Select all
cat /proc/self/mounts

Code: Select all
cat /proc/etc/mtab
Image
cyberic
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:26 pm

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby rlp10 » Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:15 pm

rowan wrote:hello
so i have done every step above but when i try to install something it spits out:
error: could not determine filesystem mount points
error: not enough free disk space
error: failed to commit transaction.

its a 8gb sd card with plenty of space. the disk image is as above 700mb with 300mb free on it
Code: Select all
df
on its own says it cannot read table of mounted filesystem
but
Code: Select all
df /
works.
what have i fudged up?


I think that the new pacman checks disk space before installing. If you edit /etc/pacman.conf then you should comment out the line that begins 'CheckSpace'. Let us know if that works.
rlp10
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:32 am

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby kmihelich » Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:27 pm

Make sure you have /proc, /dev, and /sys properly mounted inside the chroot, this will fix the problem.

Assuming you have the chroot at /chroot, run a script like this before working inside the chroot:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
mount --bind /dev /chroot/dev
mount --bind /dev/pts /chroot/dev/pts
mount --bind /dev/shm /chroot/dev/shm
mount -t proc none /chroot/proc
mount -t sysfs none /chroot/sys
Arch Linux ARM exists and continues to grow through community support, please donate today!
kmihelich
Developer
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:55 am
Location: aka leming #archlinux-arm

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby emg » Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:10 am

I remember there used to be a statically linked pacman for arch, which made installation as simple as specifying a --root directory. Is there an arm static pacman? If not, would it make sense in this use case and would anyone else be interested in one?

EDIT: Also, if you'll excuse my ignorance, why do you need an image file to mount? Is it simply for the ext2 fs as opposed what I assume is a default fat32 fs?
emg
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:06 am

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby Gary13579 » Wed Feb 29, 2012 8:49 am

kmihelich wrote:Make sure you have /proc, /dev, and /sys properly mounted inside the chroot, this will fix the problem.

Assuming you have the chroot at /chroot, run a script like this before working inside the chroot:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
mount --bind /dev /chroot/dev
mount --bind /dev/pts /chroot/dev/pts
mount --bind /dev/shm /chroot/dev/shm
mount -t proc none /chroot/proc
mount -t sysfs none /chroot/sys


You sure that script is correct? Should be mount -t proc proc /chroot/proc, right? proc won't be mounted without it.

Another very important thing to do is

ln -s /proc/self/fd /dev/fd

inside of the chroot... this fixes makepkg and abs, at the very least.
Gary13579
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:21 am

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby insanemal » Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:47 am

Quick question.

I'm installing this on my Galaxy Nexus, should I use the omap-smp root as this device has both of those boxes ticked. (in that its an omap and it has dual cores)

Thanks in advance.
insanemal
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:45 am

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby MikereDD » Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:20 am

insanemal wrote:Quick question.

I'm installing this on my Galaxy Nexus, should I use the omap-smp root as this device has both of those boxes ticked. (in that its an omap and it has dual cores)

Thanks in advance.

you get this running on a galaxy nexus please share. I have one and love the ***** out of arch.
never paid much attention at archlinuxarm was picking thru google searching arch linux on android and here I am.
I have the OG droid also will give a go on that first.
MikereDD
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:14 am

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby insanemal » Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:23 am

So yeah, that seems to work quite happy. But I'm getting weird locale issues trying to do a pacman -Syu

Code: Select all
error: error while reading package /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ca-certificates-20120212-1-any.pkg.tar.xz: Pathname in pax header can't be converted to current locale.


Anybody got any ideas?
insanemal
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:45 am

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby insanemal » Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:54 pm

So after some checking, locale-gen needed running. Then some

Code: Select all
export LANG=en_US.UTF-8
export LC_ALL=en_US.UTF-8


Then it was all kittens and rainbows :D
insanemal
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:45 am

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby einstein » Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:16 am

Dear Arch community.,
i am running a LG Optimus 2X here. which is Tegra 2 based. However. i was not able to get the trimslice or omap builds to run. instead i had to use the generic armv5te image. How can I use the Tegra2 optimized images to run?

The second thing is that i only seem to get Icewm running as a graphical frontend both Lxde and Xfce4 wont run properly.

third: can someone please put everything in one script together that is needed to have a flawless system?

Thanks
BTW: I used wget -O - | tar xzf - to extract, saves Sd space!
einstein
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 5:16 pm

PreviousNext

Return to [Please read announcement] Community-Supported Devices

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests