Installation in an Android Chroot

Install Arch Linux ARM on other devices.

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby workdowg » Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:00 am

Thought I would post this here also... Modifiy away....

So I've managed to get Archlinux running in a chroot environment with 2 choices of desktop managers, LXDE and XFCE4, on my A200.

THIS IS ONLY FOR ROOTED DEVICES - MUST HAVE BUSYBOX AND SUPERUSER


credits: Linux-On-Android, crimsonredmk @ archlinuxarm.org forum,
JoshAshby » Arch-droid, and many more I'm sure...

The following works on the Acer Iconia A200:

In a file manager make a directory called arch in your sdcard root.

Copy and paste this into a text editor and save to your /sdcard directory:

archarm.sh - http://pastebin.com/hXz526ff

Copy and paste these into a text editor and save to your /sdcard/Download directory:

.bashrc - http://pastebin.com/qqWDAdh9
bash.bashrc - http://pastebin.com/uCyRhLNM
xfce4startup - http://pastebin.com/HtNwepGi
lxstartup - http://pastebin.com/GiuwLpet
archarm.init.sh http://pastebin.com/j0W2cbH6
archarm-image-creator - http://pastebin.com/Kt62Qbp4



Next to create and setup your ArchArm 2gb install, open Terminal Emulator and enter the following:

Code: Select all
su
cd /sdcard/Download/
sh archarm-image-creator.sh


that runs....

When that finishes we need to manually type some stuff(sorry) to make sure everything works well:

Code: Select all
echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" > /etc/resolv.conf
echo "export TERM=xterm" >> /etc/profile
echo "export HOME=/root" >> /etc/profile
source /etc/profile
sh /media/sdcard/Download/copy-files.sh
pacman -Syyu
pacman -S xorg-xrdb tightvnc lxde xfce4 #select all for lxde and xfce4
exit


that is that....

you may delete the files in your Download directory...

And now to run it....

To run goto terminal and carefully follow the prompts. I suggest 1280x750 for the resolution:

Code: Select all
su
cd /sdcard
sh archarm.sh


first time it will ask for a vnc password... I suggest archarm

leave the terminal open and switch to androidvnc connect to localhost, port 5900, password is archarm

After the first run, you can put archarm.img and archarm.sh anywhere (hint external_sd) as long as you keep them together

Have fun.. I did!
workdowg
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:57 pm

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby pione » Wed May 09, 2012 11:14 am

Do you use some accessibility program to get better experience using graphical interface?
Manage LXDE with AndroidVNC is not really comfortable, It would be great if Archlinux could recognize the touchscreen and use it to interact with the user and not the vnc emulated mouse!
pione
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 5:22 pm

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby WarheadsSE » Wed May 09, 2012 12:17 pm

We agree, got any pointers to a specific driver, config & all around setup ;)
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby Jasuramme » Sat May 19, 2012 8:23 am

Good day, I installed archlinux on my android phone and realy strugglin to add alsa dummy driver to chrooted system.
Actually there wasn't success to install any modules.
I tried to compile ALSA dummy driver from sources, but i got error: The file /alsa-driver-1.0.25/alsa-kernel/include/INCLUDE_VERSION_H does not exist.
i tried to wowload my kernel source and use it to compile, but still no success.
Can you help me, please?
may be it's not easiest way to install this bloody dummy driver?

And yeah, I'm newbie in archlinux.

Thanx,
Alex
Jasuramme
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 8:14 am

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby daveosel » Mon May 28, 2012 4:24 am

Hi guys, thnx for this great guide.
Its stupid really, but i've ben having problems with the very simplest of these steps. I have been an ArchLinux user for years...
I have BusyBox installed, I connected through dab shell, and yet:
1. mount -t ext2 /dev/loop1 arch/ gives out mount: File too Large Why?
2. "tar" seems not to have a '-z' option to run a gzip filter??? I am very frustrated after hours of searching...

I just bought the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1" with Ice Cream Sandwich (v 4.0.3) installed and latest BusyBox Pro (7.9.2) installed.

Any help would be much appreciated.
By the way, I downloaded ArchLinuxARM-omap-smp-latest.tar.gz to install on this device (ARMv7 cpu), is that good, bad?

Thanks in advance :)
daveosel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 4:15 am

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby fackamato » Mon May 28, 2012 4:59 am

daveosel wrote:Hi guys, thnx for this great guide.
Its stupid really, but i've ben having problems with the very simplest of these steps. I have been an ArchLinux user for years...
I have BusyBox installed, I connected through dab shell, and yet:
1. mount -t ext2 /dev/loop1 arch/ gives out mount: File too Large Why?
2. "tar" seems not to have a '-z' option to run a gzip filter??? I am very frustrated after hours of searching...

I just bought the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1" with Ice Cream Sandwich (v 4.0.3) installed and latest BusyBox Pro (7.9.2) installed.

Any help would be much appreciated.
By the way, I downloaded ArchLinuxARM-omap-smp-latest.tar.gz to install on this device (ARMv7 cpu), is that good, bad?

Thanks in advance :)


busybox mount
busybox tar -xvzf

Try that. How large is your image?
fackamato
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby daveosel » Mon May 28, 2012 5:20 am

fackamato wrote:
daveosel wrote:Hi guys, thnx for this great guide.
Its stupid really, but i've ben having problems with the very simplest of these steps. I have been an ArchLinux user for years...
I have BusyBox installed, I connected through dab shell, and yet:
1. mount -t ext2 /dev/loop1 arch/ gives out mount: File too Large Why?
2. "tar" seems not to have a '-z' option to run a gzip filter??? I am very frustrated after hours of searching...

I just bought the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1" with Ice Cream Sandwich (v 4.0.3) installed and latest BusyBox Pro (7.9.2) installed.

Any help would be much appreciated.
By the way, I downloaded ArchLinuxARM-omap-smp-latest.tar.gz to install on this device (ARMv7 cpu), is that good, bad?

Thanks in advance :)


busybox mount
busybox tar -xvzf

Try that. How large is your image?


I tried adding 'busybox' before but same thing, file too large...and tar no gzip filter
My image is 750 MB, i have over 6 GB of internal storage, I'm quite sure i have enough space
daveosel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 4:15 am

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby gtp » Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:58 pm

i am trying to install alarm in motorola charm http://www.gsmarena.com/motorola_charm-3420.php with ArchLinuxARM-omap-smp-latest.tar.gz as the image.

but i cant get pass the
Code: Select all
chroot . /bin/bash
[1]   Segmentation fault      chroot . /bin/bash


i have busybox v1.19.4 installed in android.

what do i do?
gtp
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:32 pm

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby WarheadsSE » Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:03 am

You need to look into the actual cause of the segfault. Without that, it's all shots in the dark.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: Installation in an Android Chroot

Postby gtp » Tue Jun 26, 2012 9:06 am

as suggusted by youarefunny in https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1121797#p1121322, the problem is incompatible architacture.

Code: Select all
# chroot . /bin/bash
[root@localhost /]#


so any one else has this problem, the solution may be, is to try another image in my case its ArchLinuxARM-oxnas-latest.tar.

thanks WarheadsSE for the reply.
gtp
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:32 pm

PreviousNext

Return to [Please read announcement] Community-Supported Devices

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest