pogoplug classic with ref POGO-P24

This forum is for all other ARMv5 devices

pogoplug classic with ref POGO-P24

Postby zigomatic » Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:02 pm

Hello,

I would like to install openntp, cherokee, php on a pogoplug with reference POGO-P24.
For that, i don't know exactly what i need to do. There is a procedure to follow to have that ?
Why this model is apparently unfortunately not supported ?
zigomatic
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: pogoplug classic with ref POGO-P24

Postby firefoxPL » Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:05 am

This model is fully supported, CE simply rebranded B04 to P24, thats all I have exactly the same plug and can confirm that you can install Arch linux accordingly to installation instructions on main page (http://archlinuxarm.org/platforms/armv6 ... provideov3) or through the SATA procedure from this forum.
Pogo-P24 (new Pogoplug Classic) - ALARM on SATA (mediatomb, netatalk, avahi, time machine, swap, openvpn)
Pogo-E02 (v2 Pink) - ALARM on USB (netatalk, avahi, cryptodev-linux, getting ready for L2TP)
firefoxPL
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 1:49 pm

Re: pogoplug classic with ref POGO-P24

Postby zigomatic » Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:53 pm

Ok Good news.

Thanks for your answer.

I will try with this procedure.

I see in your signature and also from posts a lot of ALARM .
What does it mean ?
zigomatic
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: pogoplug classic with ref POGO-P24

Postby WarheadsSE » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:35 pm

It means he's fairly experienced with the devices, and runs a lot of stuff :D
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6804
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: pogoplug classic with ref POGO-P24

Postby zigomatic » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:45 pm

so ALARM is ,if i understand well , it's like when you enter in a advance setup/config ?

Concerning the install of linux + packages, i suppose that there is more than one way to have your linux on pogoplug.

Can you enumerate those possible solutions and/or answer on the list below ?

I think about this list: which are possible ?
1. remove all pogoplug stuff -> install linux distribution : possible ?
2. leave pogoplug software but with the possibility to start from a USB stick with your own linux ? --> it's in fact the solution proposed on the site : http://archlinuxarm.org/platforms/armv6/pogoplug-provideov3
3. boot from SATA -> there is a connector on the pogoplug (i will receive mine this afternoon;)
4. uboot ? -> what does it mean
zigomatic
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: pogoplug classic with ref POGO-P24

Postby WarheadsSE » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:51 pm

I'll address some, not all.

a) No, we're essentially completely replacing the OS, and more like removing the restraints. Optware is like "advanced config", leaving most of it intact, but adding functionality.
1) We don't remove the Pogoplug software. We go around it.
2) The oxnas currently is not an optional choice, you'd have to run the revert script to go back to Pogoplug.
3) Sata: there is an entire thread dedicated to this, and is really the purest 'don't take my pogoplug functionality away' method.
4) Google
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6804
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: pogoplug classic with ref POGO-P24

Postby zigomatic » Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:07 pm

Hi,

I have install from the procedure that i found on the website for Pogoplug Pro/Video/v3.
No issue reported. Thanks to all peoples that work for that.

I have some questions:

The install is done with a usb key of 2GB. When i power off , remove the key, try ssh , there is no connection.
Why there is no more access ? There is a emergency mode ?
What happens if the key is broken ?
zigomatic
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: pogoplug classic with ref POGO-P24

Postby WarheadsSE » Thu Feb 23, 2012 6:25 pm

If the key is broken, follow the directions at the bottom of the install page. :ugeek:
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6804
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: pogoplug classic with ref POGO-P24

Postby firefoxPL » Sun Feb 26, 2012 6:34 pm

zigomatic wrote:The install is done with a usb key of 2GB. When i power off , remove the key, try ssh , there is no connection.

Do I understand correctly that you remove the usb drive (dongle, key, whatever you call it) you used for the installation? If so then you effectively leave your Pogoplug without the system drive (it's like taking you hard drive from pc/laptop and expecting it to work like nothing happened) - the Arch Linux ARM (in short ALARM) is put on the usb drive during installation, therefore it has to be plugged in at all times (apart from device beeing powered off).
Pogo-P24 (new Pogoplug Classic) - ALARM on SATA (mediatomb, netatalk, avahi, time machine, swap, openvpn)
Pogo-E02 (v2 Pink) - ALARM on USB (netatalk, avahi, cryptodev-linux, getting ready for L2TP)
firefoxPL
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 1:49 pm

Re: pogoplug classic with ref POGO-P24

Postby zigomatic » Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:20 pm

ok thanks for all explanation

I have connected to the pogoplug a usb cable to an inverter (usb to usb connector like a printer).

i see in dmesg this:
[ 3.400000] usb 1-1.4: new full speed USB device using oxnas-ehci and address 4
[ 3.520000] usb 1-1.4: New USB device found, idVendor=0451, idProduct=3410
[ 3.530000] usb 1-1.4: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[ 3.540000] usb 1-1.4: Product: TUSB3410 Boot Device
[ 3.540000] usb 1-1.4: Manufacturer: Texas Instruments
[ 3.550000] usb 1-1.4: SerialNumber: TUSB3410
[ 3.550000] usb 1-1.4: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice

But seems that i can't use this device. After explore all the web, the conclusion is that normaly , i should see a /dev/ttyUSBx but i didn't see that. The program ask me a device but i can't say which one.

So how to have this kind of device in /dev ?

I see under /lib , those files:
./modules/3.1.10-3-ARCH/kernel/drivers/usb/serial/ti_usb_3410_5052.ko.gz
./firmware/ti_3410.fw

I try modprobe but i think , this command look into to uname -r path -> 2.6.31.6_SMP_820.
Do i need to copy those files under ./modules/2.6.31.6_SMP_820 ?

All those things is new for me , i try to understand but i'm a little bit lost.

Why there is a 3.1.10-3-ARCH directory in modules ?
zigomatic
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:37 pm


Return to Community Supported

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests