Tips for Using Motion on a Plug Computer

Guides written by the community, for the community, and only guides!

Tips for Using Motion on a Plug Computer

Postby Socaltom » Fri Sep 19, 2014 3:57 pm

I've been running motion for monitoring ip cameras for a couple of years now.
I haven't found much on line to help,optimize for a plug computer, so I thought I would write up what I've learned.

Hardware
I've used pogoplug V2 and V3 machines exclusively. The V2 is arm5 1200mhz with 256M RAM, the V3 is a dual core arm6 overclocked at 850MHZ.

Ive found the V3 better able to handle multiple cameras vs the V2. I'm currently running 4 cameras on the V3 and the "load" per top generally stays below 2, indicating the 2 CPUs can keep up with the load. Under the same conditions the V2 load exceeds 1 and continues to grow during periods of activity indicating the cpu isn't able to keep up with the requests.

although I've worked out some settings that keep the load near 1 on the V3 most of the time.

Tweaks
The big bottleneck seems to be during disk writes, so anything to reduce those seems to help
Creating individual movies for each event at least doubles the disk writes required vs just capturing jepg pictures. I also found it very painful to view them, since you can end up with hundreds of them in a day.
so I disable that feature with

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'Ffmpeg_capture_new off')

Instead, I use mencoder to create a single video each day from the jpegs. At 5 FPS, my daily video is 5 to 30 minutes long depending on the events of the day.
I have a cron job set that runs just before midnight, and I use the variables for date and time to make it all automated. Here is my script

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'mencoder "mf:///webcam/$(date +"%Y_%m/%d")/$1/*.jpg" -mf fps=5:type=jpg -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg4:mbd=2:trell:vbitrate=1500 -vf scale=640:460 -oac copy -o /v5Video/webcam/timelapse/$(date +"%Y%m%d")$1movie.avi')