File system locked after partial update & manual FW update

This forum is for topics specific to the Raspberry Pi and Arch Linux ARM

File system locked after partial update & manual FW update

Postby Maddhin » Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:29 am

Hi,

I'm a newbie and was stupid.

After not updating the system for quite a while, I wanted to install something and directly installed (pacman -S package) some dependencies. That left me with a broken pacman (as it requires latest OpenSSL).

I managed to repair pacman by manually downloading and unpacking openssl, curl, libarchive and pacman.

Then I tried to run pacman -Syu but had some trouble with the latest raspberrypi-firmware package (some filesize issue if I remember correctly). I managed to fix this by updating the database and install the raspberrypi-firmaware package with pacman.

Then I ran pacman -Syu and it went without problems. I remember I did a force install of openssl after that (but not curl, pacman or libarchive).

Then I thought all is fixed and I give the system a clean start...

...and it didn't boot. After search I found that the problem seems to be the kernel.img and I did replace all files in the boot partition with the latest Raspberry Pi boot files from Git and: it booted again!!!

Now, after all that, I have the situation that pacman -Syu says it cannot unlock the database and some programs are starting but it seems everything is read only...

Does anybody has a good idea where to go from here? I tried to search but I cannot solve this by e.g. removing /var/lib/pacman/db.lck. My problem seems to affect the whole system...

Thank you for any comments!
Maddhin

Re: File system locked after partial update & manual FW upda

Postby Maddhin » Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:29 am

sorry guys to bump this - if anybody has an idea as to where/how to fix this issue or something I can do to figure out where the problem is, I would be super grateful.