[SOLVED] How to configure latest uboot 2015.01-1

This forum is for supported devices using an ARMv7 Allwinner SoC.

[SOLVED] How to configure latest uboot 2015.01-1

Postby starfry » Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:52 pm

Hi, apologies if this is a FAQ but I have been unable to find anything. I am new to the Cubieboard 2 but have been around on arm for some time on the Raspberry Pi and am a long-time Arch user.

I have been grappling with boot settings on my new board (<24 hours in at the moment). I had effected changes by editing eEnv.txt and it seemed to work but after doing an update (pacman -Syu) I believe the way uboot works has changed but I can't find any information about it.

I believe the current way to configure it does not use uEnv.txt but instead you write "boot.txt" and generate "boot.scr" from it by running "mkscr". Is this correct? Is uEnv.txt no longer valid ?

If so, is there any documentation or guidance for boot.txt or how I should set boot arguments now?

I've looked briefly at boot.txt. I can add arguments to the "setenv bootargs" line but is that the right way? I can no longer get my HDMI to work. Here's what I had in eEnv.txt:

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'console=ttyS0,115200
console=tty0
disp.screen0_output_mode=EDID:1024x768p60
')

I tried this in boot.txt. I was moving my root tp sda6 and that works fine but the disp setting doesn't work.

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'setenv bootargs console=ttyS0,115200 console=tty0 disp.screen0_output_mode=EDID:1024x768p60 root=/dev/sda6 rw rootwait')

Any guidance appreciated.
Last edited by starfry on Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
starfry

Re: How to configure latest uboot 2015.01-1

Postby starfry » Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:49 am