Pull Request for new hardware (Banana Pi --> Olinuxino A20)

Make a PKGBUILD? Submit it here for user review and possible placement into the repository.

Pull Request for new hardware (Banana Pi --> Olinuxino A20)

Postby Copperhead » Fri Jul 11, 2014 10:34 am

A few days ago i created a pull request with some necessary changes for BananaPi.
https://github.com/archlinuxarm/PKGBUILDs/pull/892

I'm still not sure why it was closed. And why kmihelich used in my eyes rude language in his comment.
I'm new to Arch Linux ARM and I still want to help you.

Nevertheless you don't seem happy with BananaPi and I have to accept that. I'm going to sell the Pi.

But before I buy a replacement I want to ask if possible pull requests are OK for you.

I think of buying this board: https://www.olimex.com/Products/OLinuXi ... e-hardware:
Olimex is from Bulgaria, Europe. This board can't be "Chinese copycat garbage" :D

Edit: Or should I just buy a Cubieboard 2? I just need a working A20 board. But I'm also willing to help you support currently unsupported boards.

Thanks in advance.
Christopher
Copperhead

Re: Pull Request for new hardware (Banana Pi --> Olinuxino A

Postby WarheadsSE » Fri Jul 11, 2014 1:35 pm

The reason for the rejection was due to that number of patches altering things unrelated to the BananaPi, such as disabling drivers outright. The u-boot patch was even useless. Since it resulted in a redefined function.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer

Postby Copperhead » Fri Jul 11, 2014 3:01 pm

$this->bbcode_second_pass_quote('WarheadsSE', 'T')he reason for the rejection was due to that number of patches altering things unrelated to the BananaPi, such as disabling drivers outright.

Yes. I didn't want that in the pull request. That was my mistake. The kernelconfig didn't fit to the kernel version defined in the PKGBUILD. That happend during "make oldconfig"