[SOLVED] Wandboard Quad - does gstreamer use vpu decoding?

This forum is for supported devices using an ARMv7 Freescale SoC.

[SOLVED] Wandboard Quad - does gstreamer use vpu decoding?

Postby enzeneer » Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:12 am

Hello,

I am able to get pretty smooth 1920x1080 mp4 video-audio playback with the following gstreamer command:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
gst-launch-1.0 -vv playbin uri=file://$PWD/video1.mp4
')

But I'm not able to find the actual pipeline being used and does it involve the vpu.

Note: I've attached the output of the gst playbin command if it helps. (also available here: https://gist.github.com/enzeneer/6c801ad0485099fee428)

I tried to create my own pipeline with imxvpudec, alsasink and imgeglvivsink, but not able to recreate the playback.
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
gst-launch-1.0 filesrc location=video1.mp4 typefind=true ! qtdemux ! imxvpudec ! imxeglvivsink qtdemux ! audioconvert ! 'audio/x-raw-int, channels=2' ! alsasink

(gst-launch-1.0:3580): GStreamer-WARNING **: 0.10-style raw audio caps are being created. Should be audio/x-raw,format=(string).. now.
WARNING: erroneous pipeline: could not link audioconvert0 to alsasink0
')

So the question is 2 fold:
(1) Does the playbin method use the vpu decoding? How can it be confirmed?

(2) How to construct the correct pipeline for mp4 AV playback?

Thanks
Last edited by enzeneer on Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:01 pm, edited 3 times in total.
enzeneer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:12 am

Re: Wandboard Quad - does gstreamer use vpu decoding?

Postby enzeneer » Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:21 am

A little bit of progress. With this pipeline, at least it starts prerolling ...

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
# gst-launch-1.0 filesrc location=video1.mp4 typefind=true ! qtdemux ! imxvpudec ! imxeglvivsink qtdemux ! faad ! alsasink
Setting pipeline to PAUSED ...
[INFO] Product Info: i.MX6Q/D/S
Pipeline is PREROLLING ...
ERROR: from element /GstPipeline:pipeline0/GstQTDemux:qtdemux0: GStreamer encountered a general stream error.
Additional debug info:
qtdemux.c(4434): gst_qtdemux_loop (): /GstPipeline:pipeline0/GstQTDemux:qtdemux0:
streaming stopped, reason not-linked
ERROR: pipeline doesn't want to preroll.
Setting pipeline to NULL ...
Freeing pipeline ...
')
enzeneer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:12 am

Re: Wandboard Quad - does gstreamer use vpu decoding?

Postby enzeneer » Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:00 pm

So I did some digging and it appears that imxeglvivsink does use the VPU for decoding. So that's good news.
enzeneer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:12 am

Re: [SOLVED] Wandboard Quad - does gstreamer use vpu decodin

Postby pepedog » Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:17 pm

Can I ask, does this simple command work?
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'gst-play video1.mp4')
pepedog
Developer
 
Posts: 2431
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: London UK

Re: [SOLVED] Wandboard Quad - does gstreamer use vpu decodin

Postby enzeneer » Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:49 pm

Hi

Sorry for my late reply.
Yes, gst-play does work, but somehow performance is not as good as using gst-launch. I don't know why, it's hard to describe what is happening. The windows behind the video get shown too, as if it's writing the fb each time. That does not happen with gst-launch.

My next problem is that gst-launch does not do portrait mode / rotation even though my entire display is in portrait mode.

But I guess I should start a new topic for that on the forum.
enzeneer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:12 am


Return to Freescale

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests