No WiFi on Utilite

This forum is for supported devices using an ARMv7 Freescale SoC.

No WiFi on Utilite

Postby buh » Tue Dec 30, 2014 1:13 pm

Hi,

This is my first post here and I'm pretty new to both Arch Linux and ARM, so please excuse me if I have missed something. Some time ago, I started playing with a Utilite Standard and at the time managed to get it fully operational, incl. WiFi. For time reasons, I stopped then and have only picked it up again in the last few days. I started with a fresh install, and can't seem to get WiFi working again.

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
# lspci
00:00.0 PCI bridge: Synopsys, Inc. Device abcd (rev 01)
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation I211 Gigabit Network Connection (rev 03)

# dmesg | grep wifi
mwifiex_sdio mmc0:0001:1: request_firmware() returned error code 0xfffffffe
mwifiex: mwifiex_add_card: firmware init failed
mwifiex_sdio: mwifiex_sdio_probe: add card failed
mwifiex_sdio: probe of mmc0:0001:1 failed with error -1
')
I wondered whether some firmware may be missing and installed the alarm/firmware-imx package. After this didn't help, I also added all files from /lib/firmware of the vendor's official Ubuntu image. The problem persists.

As I said, I am still fairly new to this and so I'm not sure if the issue is on my side or whether I should file a bug. A related question is if the multi-platform core/linux-armv7 kernel would boot on the Utilite. I actually don't care too much whether or not this resolves the WiFi issue, but I do want to run a Docker instance. Docker runs, but it has some issues that I suspect are related to kernel version and config of core/linux-utilite. I'd be grateful for an educated assessment whether the linux-armv7 kernel could boot, and if so, how to get there. In particular, core/linux-armv7 is a zImage, and in this case I am uncertain how to configure U-Boot and both get and use the appropriate devicetree files. core/linux-utilite is a uImage.