blank screen after kernel upgrade from 5.4.10 to 5.5.0-1

This forum is for supported devices using an ARMv7 Samsung SoC.

blank screen after kernel upgrade from 5.4.10 to 5.5.0-1

Postby m040601 » Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:43 pm

blank screen after kernel upgrade from 5.4.10 to 5.5.0-1 on Samsung XE303c12 (snow)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've been running the mainline kernel for a couple of months. Since the panfrost driver inclusion performance of this little underrated machine has been very satisfying :D . Nothing like some years ago.

- Arch installed on the internal emcc.
- kernel partition is on /dev/mmcblk0p1
- root partition is on /dev/mmcblk0p2
- never flashrom'd or touched anything else (mmcblk0boot1/0), Google still owns my bootloader :x

(By the way, the wiki on this device needs an update (see bottom of this post NOTE1))

After C-d to boot, the screen goes into dark black (shuts off).
Nothing changes after a couple of minutes..
It seems it doesnt boot at all.
No Control-Alt-F keys work to change console.
I have a fixed ip address assigned by the router to this computer.
But, it doesnt show up in the network, so I cannot ssh from other computers in the network.

The only way I found to solve this, was to boot from a rescue (Arch) usb stick.
Tried fsck, no problems.I then mounted the root (/dev/mmcblk0p2) and then chrooted into it (arch-chroot). Tried reinstalling the same new versions again , 5.5.0-1, same problem.
I then decided to downgrade these two:
- linux-armv7-chromebook, https://archlinuxarm.org/packages/armv7 ... chromebook
- linux-armv7, https://archlinuxarm.org/packages/armv7h/linux-armv7
by copying the packages (5.4.10 ) from another system pkg cache, and pacman -U ...
Problem solved.

This has happend to me before a couple of months ago (running from USB sticks).
By the way, during pacman kernel upgrades that message: