[SOLVED] Problems getting boot working properly on trimslice

This forum is for supported devices using an ARMv7 Texas Instruments (TI) SoC.

[SOLVED] Problems getting boot working properly on trimslice

Postby molocia » Wed Sep 28, 2011 12:12 pm

Since Archlinux ARM is supposed to be one of the few distros running on the TrimSlice with hardfp I was trying to make it work on my TrimSlice Pro, and I'm having some problems with getting it to boot correctly.

I feel like I may have missed something, possibly something with making the boot.scr.

I used this command
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'mkimage -A arm -O linux -T script -C none -a 0 -e 0 -n "Trim Slice SD Boot" -d bootcmd-file.txt /boot/boot.scr')

This was my bootcmd-file.txt
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'setenv bootargs 'root=/dev/mmcblk0p1 rw rootwait console=tty1 console=ttyS0,115200n8 mem=384M@0M mem=512M@512M nvmem=128M@384M vmalloc=248M nohdparm noinitrd init=/sbin/init rootwait loglevel=8 video=tegrafb'
ext2load mmc 0:1 4080000 /boot/uImage
bootm 4080000')

I have a 8GB SDHC card that I have successfully made boot the default TrimSlice installer image, so it shouldn't be a hardware issue.

If I start it with the sd card the screen will constantly stay turned off, but the computer seems to at least partially boot as the keyboard num/caps lock buttons turns on/off the lights.

Did I miss something really obvious?
molocia
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:10 am

Re: Problems getting boot working properly on trimslice

Postby pepedog » Wed Sep 28, 2011 1:17 pm

Where did you put boot.scr
If it is /boot/boot.scr when you created it, it will end up on the system you booted from, and it doesn't have to go in the boot directory, I would have expected you to have done this
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'mkimage -A arm -O linux -T script -C none -a 0 -e 0 -n "Trim Slice SD Boot" -d bootcmd-file.txt /media/something/boot.scr')
pepedog
Developer
 
Posts: 2431
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Problems getting boot working properly on trimslice

Postby bneate » Wed Sep 28, 2011 1:47 pm

If you are connecting your display to the trimslice using the HDMI port there is a issue where the port is not enabled until a x server is started up. Since arch doesn't install/start a x server by default you need to do that manually before you can get any display output on the HDMI port. You can either do this when you are in the chroot while installing arch or using a ssh/serial connection when arch is running on your trimslice.
bneate
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:23 pm

Re: Problems getting boot working properly on trimslice

Postby bmentink » Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:03 pm

I am having similar issues. I created the SD card fine and created the boot.scr as per the guide and placed it in the root of the SD card, as implied by the guide (I did this while in the chroot environment)

The missing bit of knowledge is how to I get TrimSlice to boot of the SD card? When I re-booted with the SD card in the slot, I was back in Ubuntu.

Also, I am not seeing anything on the screen until X comes up, as mentioned, so how do I see the boot progress as there is no serial console? ..

Is there some magic here I am missing? :cry:

EDIT:
:oops: Well I found the serial port. I also noted that a start from power tries to boot using the boot.scr off the SD card, but fails. Here is the text ...

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'U-Boot 2010.09-1.02-00003-gee0eedc (Aug 09 2011 - 18:46:07)

TEGRA2
Board: TrimSlice
DRAM: 1 GiB
SF: Detected W25Q80BL with page size 256, total 1 MiB
In: serial
Out: serial
Err: serial
Boot: Spi
Net: RTL8169#0
Hit any key to stop autoboot: 0
Scanning MMC card ...
EMMC 0 Probed Successfully
mmc0 is available
Scanning fat mmc 0 on prefix / ...
reading /boot.scr

** Unable to read "/boot.scr" from mmc 0:1 **
Scanning ext2 mmc 0 on prefix / ...
Loading file "/boot.scr" from mmc device 0:1 (xxa1)
333 bytes read
boot.scr found! Executing ...
## Executing script at 00408000
Wrong image format for "source" command
Scanning fat mmc 0 on prefix /boot/ ...
reading /boot/boot.scr

** Unable to read "/boot/boot.scr" from mmc 0:1 **
Scanning ext2 mmc 0 on prefix /boot/ ...
Loading file "/boot/boot.scr" from mmc device 0:1 (xxa1)')

Question: I put an ext4 filesystem on the SD card, instead of an ext2, can ext2load load from an ext4 filesystem?, could this be the problem?
bmentink
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:51 am

Re: Problems getting boot working properly on trimslice

Postby kmihelich » Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:56 pm

The filesystem on the SD card should be at most ext3. That is what I use booting from SD and I have no issues.
Arch Linux ARM exists and continues to grow through community support, please donate today!
kmihelich
Developer
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:55 am
Location: aka leming #archlinuxarm

Re: Problems getting boot working properly on trimslice

Postby bmentink » Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:18 pm

Thanks, I will rebuild the card.

As an aside, I notice that removing the SD card and trying to reboot Ubuntu doesn't work any more. I can log into the kernel
on the serial console, but nothing on X

... also tried to fetch the latest tarball with wget under Ubuntu and I get this ..

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'Saving to: `ArchLinuxARM-omap-smp-latest.tar.gz.1'

[ 101.291506] irq 68: nobody cared (try booting with the "irqpoll" option) 265K/s
[ 101.300483] handlers:
[ 101.302784] [<c034b1ac>] (serial8250_interrupt+0x0/0x128)
[ 101.308285] Disabling IRQ #68')

.. and the box locks up ... hopefully I won't have the same issue from a chroot .. if I do, I am stuffed ..
By the way, I havn't touched the filesystem on the SSD card at all .. so not sure what has changed ..
bmentink
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:51 am

Re: Problems getting boot working properly on trimslice

Postby bmentink » Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:17 pm

Ok, I have Arch booting fine now on an ext3 filesystem.

Tried to install X though and failed ..

1st error is:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'X.Org X Server 1.10.4
Release Date: 2011-08-19
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 3.1-rc5-ARCH armv7l
Current Operating System: Linux alarm 2.6.38.3-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Jul 29 13:49:49 MDT 2011 armv
7l
Kernel command line: root=/dev/mmcblk0p1 rw rootwait console=tty1 console=ttyS0,115200n8 mem=384M@0M
mem=512M@512M nvmem=128M@384M vmalloc=248M nohdparm noinitrd ini[ 520.134332] vgaarb: this pci dev
ice is not a vga device
t=/sbin/init rootwait loglevel=8 video=tegrafb
Build Date: 20 September 2011 06:37:44PM

[ 520.150938] vgaarb: this pci device is not a vga device

Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Wed Sep 28 17:14:19 2011
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (module does not exist, 0)
NvRmPrivGetChipIdStub: Can't open file
NvRmModuleGetCapabilities: MOD[85] Could not find matching version of module
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 56: exec: xterm: not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 54: xterm: command not found
xinit: connection to X server lost
')

So I installed libgl (don't know if that is correct ..), now I get a different error:

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'X.Org X Server 1.10.4
Release Date: 2011-08-19
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 3.1-rc5-ARCH armv7l
Current Operating System: Linux alarm 2.6.38.3-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Jul 29 13:49:49 MDT 2011 armv
7l
Kernel command line: root=/dev/mmcblk0p1 rw rootwait console=tty1 console=ttyS0,115200n8 mem=384M@0M
mem=512M@512M nvmem=128M@384M vmalloc=248M nohdparm noinitrd ini[ 465.123874] vgaarb: this pci dev
ice is not a vga device
t=/sbin/init rootwait loglevel=8 video=tegrafb
Build Date: 20 September 2011 06:37:44PM

Current version of pixman: 0.22.2
Before reporting problems, che[ 465.140775] vgaarb: this pci device is not a vga device
ck http://wiki.x.org
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Wed Sep 28 17:13:24 2011
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
NvRmPrivGetChipIdStub: Can't open file
NvRmModuleGetCapabilities: MOD[85] Could not find matching version of module
(EE) AIGLX error: dlopen of /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/swrast_dri.so failed (libffi.so.5: cannot open
shared object file: No such file or directory)
(EE) GLX: could not load software renderer
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 56: exec: xterm: not found
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc: line 54: xterm: command not found
xinit: connection to X server lost

waiting for X server to shut down')

Is there a howto on what dependencies are necessary to get X up and running? Thanks.
bmentink
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:51 am

Re: Problems getting boot working properly on trimslice

Postby pepedog » Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:58 pm

Did you
pacman -S nvidia-trimslice
Maybe reboot too.
pepedog
Developer
 
Posts: 2431
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Problems getting boot working properly on trimslice

Postby kmihelich » Wed Sep 28, 2011 11:11 pm

It's kinda telling you blatantly what is wrong.. xterm isn't found. Install it.
Arch Linux ARM exists and continues to grow through community support, please donate today!
kmihelich
Developer
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:55 am
Location: aka leming #archlinuxarm

Re: Problems getting boot working properly on trimslice

Postby bmentink » Wed Sep 28, 2011 11:31 pm

Well I had to install libgl, libffi, and xterm ... now startx works .. at least it doesn't exit on error ... but still nothing on the display, just like ubuntu .. :cry:

Maybe I have a hardware fault since both Ubuntu and X on Arch do not display anything on the screen ..

I am trying this on a DVI-D monitor with the supplied adapter, and have tried both the HDMI and the DVI-D sockets .. but nothing .. very strange, used to work fine initially on Ubuntu ..
bmentink
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:51 am

Next

Return to Texas Instruments (TI)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests