trying to install to brand new ppv4

This forum is for Marvell Kirkwood devices such as the GoFlex Home/Net, PogoPlug v1/v2, SheevaPlug, and ZyXEL devices.

trying to install to brand new ppv4

Postby beyondbuxton » Tue May 02, 2017 4:01 pm

Hello,

Bought one of those new, un-opened ppv4s kicking around on amazoo and am having problems getting to the point where I can begin the install.

I created an account on my.pogoplug.com and left the box online overnight. Apparently the box got an update of some sort... On the my.pogoplug.com site, it no longer shows as ver. 3.2.1, instead giving no version information (on the general settings tab where it displays "Your pogoplug cloud").

Using http://root:ceadmin@IP/sqdiag/ I was able to look at the built-in CE httpd (before and after the update) and the tunnel information that was in there is no longer (which likely explains the above versioning).

After giving nmap a go at the box, it shows that tcp 80 and 3333 are open. The CE httpd is still there, yes. But, as it isn't listening to https/ssl, the "https://root:ceadmin@IP/sqdiag/HBPlug?action=command&command=dropbear%20start" doesn't appear to be available. Does anyone have any idea if the 3333 port is useful?

I'm left wondering what my options are at this point?

Regards,
BB
beyondbuxton
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: trying to install to brand new ppv4

Postby WarheadsSE » Wed May 03, 2017 1:43 pm

First, try taking the `https` off, and making `http`. HTTPS defaults to port 443, which obviously isn't present.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6727
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: trying to install to brand new ppv4

Postby beyondbuxton » Wed May 03, 2017 2:51 pm

Thank you for the reply.

After trying that, it responds with "Diagnostics only available over HTTPS". I tried pointing https:// to :80 and still no go.

I do have a usb ttl adapter. I had tried that before I even went the route of registering the box with the my.pogoplug.com site. I couldn't get a serial console session and wasn't sure why... was console access not enabled on that stock build or was there something wrong with my minicom session?? Dunno. So I quit pursuing that. Maybe it's time to go back to that?
beyondbuxton
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: trying to install to brand new ppv4

Postby beyondbuxton » Thu May 04, 2017 2:42 pm

I've got the ttl adapter attached again. Rx/Tx swapped. Ground connected. "minicom -D /dev/ttyUSB0"

No joy. I can get "noise" in minicom if I disconnect/reconnect the ground pin but otherwise I see nothing. is there an escape key/sequence I could try?

Right now it's an unhappy, red brick.
beyondbuxton
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: trying to install to brand new ppv4

Postby moonman » Fri May 05, 2017 3:10 am

swap rx tx. Some adapters come with them already marked as swapped on the adapter. You should be getting some output, at the very least from U-Boot. Make sure it is in fact ttyUSB0 and not ttyUSB1 or 3 or 99.
Pogoplug V4 | GoFlex Home | Raspberry Pi B 512 | CuBox-i4 Pro | ClearFog | BeagleBone Black | Odroid U2 | Odroid C1 | Odroid XU4
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[armv5] Updated U-Boot | |[armv5] How to install my.pogoplug.com service | [armv5] NAND Rescue System
moonman
Developer
 
Posts: 3089
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 3:36 am
Location: Calgary, Canada


Return to Marvell Kirkwood

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests