B3, Kirkwood based miniserver

This forum is for Marvell Kirkwood devices such as the GoFlex Home/Net, PogoPlug v1/v2, SheevaPlug, and ZyXEL devices.

B3, Kirkwood based miniserver

Postby ReedWood » Sun Aug 25, 2013 8:43 pm

Hallo all,

I am new to ARM and this forum, so please redirect this post, if there is better suited sub-forum.

I own an Excito B3 [1], which comes with a Debian squeeze. All open source. cpuinfo gives
----
Processor : Feroceon 88FR131 rev 1 (v5l)
BogoMIPS : 1196.85
Features : swp half thumb fastmult edsp
CPU implementer : 0x56
CPU architecture: 5TE
CPU variant : 0x2
CPU part : 0x131
CPU revision : 1

Hardware : BUBBA3 Kirkwood based miniserver
Revision : 0000
Serial : 0000000000000000
---

I tried to install the ArchLinuxARM-armv5te-latest.tar.gz image, but could not boot into the system. The catch with the hardware is, that it lacks a VGA output. So I can get my hands on the device only if the network interface and the ssh deamon is up. There is a LED indicating different system states, but I am not sure if I can trust the LED once I moved away from the kernel provided with the device.

I have a lot of other information, e.g. a list of kernel modules which are loaded while the original Debian is running.

My question here is if you think that there is any change to get an Arch on this device, and if so what the first steps are to figure out how. I have a good working knowlegde of Linux etc. but I have never tried to get in onto a unsupported platform.

Best,
Wolfgang

[1] http://www.excitostore.com/content/spec ... -excito-b3
ReedWood

Re: B3, Kirkwood based miniserver

Postby moonman » Sun Aug 25, 2013 10:56 pm

You may have to roll your own kernel and use our rootfs. I found some patches here: https://github.com/Excito/kernel/tree/m ... an/patches . The kernel seems to depend on device tree and we don't (yet?) use device tree for our devices.