Enabling the wireless in a PogoPlug Pro

This forum is for all other ARMv5 devices

Re: Enabling the wireless in a PogoPlug Pro

Postby jonsmirl » Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:39 am

I can't get iw to work on ra0...

[root@Arch Linux ARM install tools]# iw dev ra0 info
command failed: No such device (-19)
[root@Arch Linux ARM install tools]# iw phy ra0 info
command failed: No such file or directory (-2)
[root@Arch Linux ARM install tools]# lsmod
Module Size Used by
cfg80211 88968 0
rt3390sta 1111860 1
gmac 40380 0
mii 6100 1 gmac

[root@Arch Linux ARM install tools]# ifconfig
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:268 (268.0 b) TX bytes:268 (268.0 b)

ra0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:F0:6D:69:C4:7B
inet addr:192.168.1.11 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: 2002:ad4c:1c5f:1:76f0:6dff:fe69:c47b/64 Scope:Global
inet6 addr: fe80::76f0:6dff:fe69:c47b/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:4545213 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:53929 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1236702593 (1179.4 Mb) TX bytes:5519736 (5.2 Mb)
Interrupt:51

[root@Arch Linux ARM install tools]#
jonsmirl
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 11:48 pm

Re: Enabling the wireless in a PogoPlug Pro

Postby WarheadsSE » Fri Apr 29, 2011 1:39 pm

Yeah, I'm not sure why iw doesn't see it. iwconfig & iwpriv see and work with it just fine.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: Enabling the wireless in a PogoPlug Pro

Postby jonsmirl » Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:34 pm

The kernel is probably too old for iw support. iw is fairly recent.
jonsmirl
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 11:48 pm

Re: Enabling the wireless in a PogoPlug Pro

Postby WarheadsSE » Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:46 pm

Yes, it looks like the 31.6 bits have Improved Wireless, but they are outmoded versions.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: Enabling the wireless in a PogoPlug Pro

Postby franoreilly » Sun May 01, 2011 12:44 pm

I got the wireless working OK on my Pro after I installed Arch Linux ARM as per here. If it helps anyone here's the steps I took based on the great info already contributed in this thread:

Downloaded WarheadsSE's tar file http://my.pogoplug.com/share/vArHUudFPhMW8MZGCEDcIA/pro-wirless.tar.gz

Unzipped it in /

Changed the MODULES line in /etc/rc.conf line to :

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
MODULES=(gmac rt3390sta !rt2800pci !rt61pci !rt2x00pci !rt2800usb !rt2800lib !rt
2x00usb !rt2x00lib)
')

Created a script file /usr/local/bin/setup_wireless containing (assumes a WPA2 TKIP wifi configuration):

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
ifconfig ra0 up
iwpriv ra0 set NetworkType=Infra
iwpriv ra0 set AuthMode=WPA2PSK
iwpriv ra0 set EncrypType=TKIP
iwpriv ra0 set SSID="Your wireless access point name"
iwpriv ra0 set WPAPSK=your wireless access point password
#setting up a static ip address
ifconfig ra0 192.168.0.123 netmask 255.255.255.0 #use your own preferred static ip/netmask
route add default gw 192.168.0.1 #use ip of your router/gateway
')

Make the script executable (you might also need to consider more restrictive permissions since the script file contains your wifi password):

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
chmod +x /usr/local/bin/setup_wireless
')

Run the script on boot, add the following line to the end of /etc/rc.local:

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
/usr/local/bin/setup_wireless
')

Finally: reboot the Pogoplug Pro
franoreilly
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 12:21 pm

Re: Enabling the wireless in a PogoPlug Pro

Postby wlightw » Thu May 26, 2011 4:56 am

the link to download pro-wirless.tar.gz doesn't work.. can someone post again? thx
wlightw
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 4:54 am

Re: Enabling the wireless in a PogoPlug Pro

Postby WarheadsSE » Thu May 26, 2011 12:37 pm

I will re-mount the samba mount point. It seems my Video rebooted at some point and of course, it doesn't auto-remount.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: Enabling the wireless in a PogoPlug Pro

Postby Geoff » Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:46 am

$this->bbcode_second_pass_quote('franoreilly', 'C')hanged the MODULES line in /etc/rc.conf line to :
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'MODULES=(gmac rt3390sta !rt2800pci !rt61pci !rt2x00pci !rt2800usb !rt2800lib !rt
2x00usb !rt2x00lib)')

I found it sufficient to add rt3390sta and blacklist rt2800pci:

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'MODULES=(gmac rt3390sta !rt2800pci)')

$this->bbcode_second_pass_quote('franoreilly', 'C')reated a script file /usr/local/bin/setup_wireless containing (assumes a WPA2 TKIP wifi configuration):
Run the script on boot, add the following line to the end of /etc/rc.local:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '/usr/local/bin/setup_wireless')

I found an alternative, which I think follows more closely the intent of the rc system. I decided to use a static IP address for eth0 and another static IP address for ra0, so I changed /etc/rc.conf as follows:

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '#Static IP example
eth0="eth0 192.168.0.7 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255"
#eth0="dhcp"
ra0="ra0 192.168.0.207 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255"
INTERFACES=(eth0 ra0)')
As I am using static IP addresses for eth0 and ra0, I added static default gateways for each of these, giving a higher priority to eth0:

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '#gateway="default gw 192.168.0.1"
#ROUTES=(!gateway)
gateway_eth0="default gw 192.168.0.1 metric 0 dev eth0"
gateway_ra0="default gw 192.168.0.1 metric 1 dev ra0"
ROUTES=(gateway_eth0 gateway_ra0)')
Finally, I added some lines to the end of /etc/conf.d/wireless to set the wireless password:

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'iwpriv ra0 set EncrypType=TKIP
iwpriv ra0 set WPAPSK='Your wireless access point password'
wlan_ra0="ra0 mode managed essid 'Your wireless access point name' auth WPA2"
WLAN_INTERFACES=(ra0)')
Geoff
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:14 pm

Re: Enabling the wireless in a PogoPlug Pro

Postby romo12 » Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:49 pm

I have followed franoreilly's instructions but it seems the module is never loaded and the network interface isn't created.I thought it might have something to do with the udev issues but even after it was fixed I've had no luck. I have searched but can't find a solution.


Any help is appreciated and Thanks to the developers for such great work.
romo12
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:24 am

Re: Enabling the wireless in a PogoPlug Pro

Postby pepedog » Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:06 pm

My guess would be is to move these blacklists
MODULES=(!rt2800pci !rt61pci !rt2x00pci !rt2800usb !rt2800lib !rt2x00usb !rt2x00lib)
into modprobe.conf, entry in rc.conf depreciated

Also if this is a second interface, that has changed in rc.conf too
pepedog
Developer
 
Posts: 2431
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: London UK

PreviousNext

Return to Community Supported

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests