Disadvantages of Pogoplug Pro?

This forum is for all other ARMv5 devices

Disadvantages of Pogoplug Pro?

Postby rashomon » Wed May 11, 2011 10:52 pm

I'm planning to buy a Pogoplus Pro P01 and install Arch Linux ARM install. This would be my first Linux-powered ARM device and I plan to use it as an Asterisk and a backup server with an external hard drive. I'm not buying the recommended SheevaPlug since it has only 1 USB port and P01 also has WiFi built in.

I've read the hardware page on the wiki to find out what I will miss out on:
    Memory: 128 MB. I can build a swap file/partition in order to overcome this.
    Storage: 128 MB. What is the use of this storage? Since I will be installing Linux on external drive, does this internal storage contain only the bootloader? In that case 128 MB for bootloader is sufficient.
    No JTAG: Since I've no knowledge of hardware, what is JTAG's use? After reading installation instructions, it doesn't look like I need JTAG in order to install Arch Linux ARM install.
    Not a Sheeva Processor: Are there packages that I will not be able to install/use because the Processor is not Marvell Sheeva?

Thanks for answering all my newbie-type questions.
rashomon

Re: Disadvantages of Pogoplug Pro?

Postby WarheadsSE » Thu May 12, 2011 12:26 am

Memory: correct observation
Storage: again correct. This essentially just stores the kernel.
JTAG: Actually we're identified the JTAG port as HD5 on the board, just no header, and it is *not* needed to install.
Applications: Everything that runs on the Sheeva/Marvell is an armv5te and runs perfectly on the Pro's armv6l
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer

Postby rashomon » Thu May 12, 2011 1:42 am