FTP/SFTP server setup

This forum is for all other ARMv5 devices

FTP/SFTP server setup

Postby TerminalClient » Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:28 am

Hey all,
I tried googling to find out how to set my PogoPlug Pro up as a FTP/SFTP server, accessible from outside the local network.
I have installed oxnas on my PPP, and updated etc, SSH works and i can access it through Filezilla within my local network.
What do I need to do now so that I can;
Discover the external IP address
Access and download files from another computer (FTP/SFTP access over internet)
Allow others (with there own Username and Password) to access and download files (FTP/SFTP access over internet)
Allow DynDNS to get the IP address and update it whenever it changes.

I am pretty new to ArchLinux, I run Ubuntu 11.04 and am ok with using the command line (my linux-fu is not strong, but is sufficient).

Thanks in advance.
TerminalClient

Re: FTP/SFTP server setup

Postby slycat » Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:46 pm

I am assuming you're looking for a GUI type of installation right?

If I am trying to retrieve the info on a Windows machine I use WinSCP, a client that gives you drag-drop features using the sftp built into the pro (should be built it, I never had to pacman it). Before you can access it from outside your home, you'd need to port-forward the ssh/sftp port (Fair Warning: This will have your plug open to the net so maybe change your root passwd or create a user specifically for sftp connections w/o root privileges). I've even gone so far to change the from the default port due to one day getting someone trying to brute-force their way into my plug, since changing it no un-invited knocks at the door haha.
From a Linux machine I haven't dabbled much into it but I've just ssh'd in (same method as before) and then scp the file that I needed. Of course, this is strictly CLI, so it'll build your linux-fu. :)