have i bricked my pogo pro?

This forum is for all other ARMv5 devices

Re: have i bricked my pogo pro?

Postby WarheadsSE » Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:41 pm

The easiest way is probably a FTDI cable with breakout. What country are you located in?
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6799
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: have i bricked my pogo pro?

Postby kyprosv » Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:28 pm

WarheadsSE wrote:The easiest way is probably a FTDI cable with breakout. What country are you located in?


Cyprus..

I found this http://www.ebay.com/itm/FTDI-Basic-Breakout-USB-TTL-6-PIN-3-3-5V-With-Free-USB-Cable-For-Arduino-/320907184616?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4ab78f09e8 on ebay.. I guess it should be fine right?
kyprosv
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:27 pm

Re: have i bricked my pogo pro?

Postby karog » Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:35 pm


That will do. Or search for cp2102 at ebay as well.

Note they come from China so shipping is generally slow. One I ordered (US$2.64 shipped) took 30 days to the US east coast. No idea how long to Cyprus.
karog
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:55 pm

Re: have i bricked my pogo pro?

Postby kyprosv » Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:58 pm

karog wrote:

That will do. Or search for cp2102 at ebay as well.

Note they come from China so shipping is generally slow. One I ordered (US$2.64 shipped) took 30 days to the US east coast. No idea how long to Cyprus.


More or less the same time.. I see 6 pins on them.. I guess i will have to use 3.3V RXD TXD, (or GND RXD TXD)?

And use the white 4 pin connector located near the 12E8 chip?
kyprosv
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:27 pm

Re: have i bricked my pogo pro?

Postby karog » Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:19 pm

kyprosv wrote:More or less the same time.. I see 6 pins on them.. I guess i will have to use 3.3V RXD TXD, (or GND RXD TXD)?

Use only the RXD, TXD, and GND. Mine did not have a 3.3/5 switch like I see in the picture of your link but you want 3.3V.I think mine has a 3.3V pin and a 5V pin. Whereas your picture has a VCC pin that appears to be switchable. In any case, you don't want the power from this device.
kyprosv wrote:And use the white 4 pin connector located near the 12E8 chip?

Not sure what you mean by that. In the picture of your device, that black connector comes off the 6 pins and you just use RXD, TXD, and GND as noted before. And connect the TXD of the device to the RXD on the pogo and RXD to TXD on the pogo, GND to GND.
karog
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:55 pm

Re: have i bricked my pogo pro?

Postby kyprosv » Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:56 am

kyprosv wrote:And use the white 4 pin connector located near the 12E8 chip?

Not sure what you mean by that. In the picture of your device, that black connector comes off the 6 pins and you just use RXD, TXD, and GND as noted before. And connect the TXD of the device to the RXD on the pogo and RXD to TXD on the pogo, GND to GND.[/quote]

What i mean with that is if you open the pogo pro on the pcb (near the 12E8 Chip, next to the led) you can see a small white four pin connector. Do i use that or unscrew the PCB from the base and find the pins there?
kyprosv
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:27 pm

Re: have i bricked my pogo pro?

Postby WarheadsSE » Thu Jan 03, 2013 1:44 pm

That 4-pin white connector is a JST jack, and is the serial.

https://plus.google.com/photos/11697247 ... 6721880769
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6799
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: have i bricked my pogo pro?

Postby kyprosv » Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:59 pm

Thanx guys. I ordered the CP2102 as it was half the price of the others.

I guess my next step is to connect it and check the boot sequence right? and then what?
kyprosv
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:27 pm

Re: have i bricked my pogo pro?

Postby WarheadsSE » Thu Jan 03, 2013 3:05 pm

That will tell us where to go from.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6799
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: have i bricked my pogo pro?

Postby kyprosv » Thu Jan 03, 2013 3:22 pm

WarheadsSE wrote:That will tell us where to go from.


Nice :)

I will wait for the cable then. When i have it i will post the output here.

Until then i will leave it as is. No more experimenting :)
kyprosv
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:27 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Community Supported

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests