How do you mount an extternal usb hdd - arch on pogoplug pro

This forum is for all other ARMv5 devices

How do you mount an extternal usb hdd - arch on pogoplug pro

Postby yoda313 » Sun Jan 06, 2013 4:13 pm

Hi,

I have archlinux (alarm) installed on my pogoplug pro. I am NEW TO LINUX. I want to mount an external usb harddrive that has media files on it (a 500gb usb drive with mkv video files (h264) and pictures and such). I want it to be accessible with minidlna which is installed already.

I know there is a mount command but I don't want to do anything like accidentally format the harddrive. I just want to load the harddrive so that minidlna will be able to access the files.

I have an android tablet and a upnp app that can see my device (it shows the linux penguin and "alarm" as the name so that is my pogoplug device with minidlna on it. I have my media harddrive plugged into the back of the pogoplug and the light on the usb harddrive is on so it is connected. I just need to properly mount it so it can be read through the upnp software.

Thank you for your help.

I have done searching but I can't seem to locate a super beginners guide for something like mounting a harddrive. I saw threads about automounting but I just want to load it right now so I can get to using it. I'll worry about more advanced features later.

Thanks again.

Edit - fyi I am using PUTTY to ssh into the pogoplug (running windows vista fyi)
yoda313

Re: How do you mount an extternal usb hdd - arch on pogoplug

Postby WarheadsSE » Sun Jan 06, 2013 4:18 pm

Find the drive:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'cat /proc/partitions')
Mount it:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'mkdir -p /media/something
mount /dev/sdXN /media/something')
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer

Postby yoda313 » Sun Jan 06, 2013 4:27 pm

$this->bbcode_second_pass_quote('WarheadsSE', 'F')ind the drive: