Trouble starting Samba on PogoPlug V3 [Solved]

This forum is for all other ARMv5 devices

Trouble starting Samba on PogoPlug V3 [Solved]

Postby Koot » Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:27 am

I have a PogoPlug V3 (P21). I've successfully installed Arch Linux on it.
VERSION: Linux alarm 2.6.31.6_SMP_820 #6 SMP Thu Jun 14 19:49:57 CDT 2012 armv6l GNU/Linux
My goal is to use the pogoplug to share my external USB 1TB hard drive on my local network only.

I tried to use this guide to install Samba but I think it's out of date now
http://archlinuxarm.org/support/guides/applications/samba

I have installed VERSION: samba-3.6.11-4-arm
Here is the results from "testparm"
[root@alarm etc]# testparm
Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
Loaded services file OK.
Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE
Press enter to see a dump of your service definitions


I check my processes with the "ps -A" command and smbd, nmbd, or samba are not in the list
I have scoured the forums and tried to start the service with "rc.d start samba" but it doesn't find the daemon script.
I tried adding "samba" in the DAEMON list in the daemon in the rc.conf file but no luck.
I looked in the ect/rc.d directory and none of these daemons are in there. I don't know how to add them.

Then I tried some some systemd commands "systemctl enable smbd" and then "systemctl start smbd" but I get a DBUS connection error.

I'm simply not sure if I should be using rc.d command or systemctl to get this service to run?

As you can tell I'm a noob to this.
Let me know if you need any additional information :D
Last edited by Koot on Sat Feb 02, 2013 12:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Koot
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:51 am

Re: Trouble starting Samba on PogoPlug V3

Postby campigenus » Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:39 pm

For some reason the "samba" script in the "rc.d" went missing after a recent update of my box. Luckily I had an old copy around, and after putting it in the proper place samba started OK. I am wondering if you're having the same problem???
~~~
"Good behavior is the last refuge of mediocrity."
- Henry S. Haskins
campigenus
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:00 am

Re: Trouble starting Samba on PogoPlug V3

Postby karog » Fri Feb 01, 2013 8:24 pm

Same thing happened to me this morning. I too had a copy of /etc/rc.d/samba on another V3 that I copied to fix the problem.

My guess is that this is a change toward systemd that arch linux is making but unfortunately oxnas machines cannot make that move and are getting left behind.
Last edited by karog on Sat Feb 02, 2013 12:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
karog
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:55 pm

Re: Trouble starting Samba on PogoPlug V3

Postby Koot » Sat Feb 02, 2013 12:10 am

Thanks for the quick responses.

1st I tried re-installing samba but it was no help.
I then found an old post where pepedog was kind enough to post the code for the samba daemon script.
http://archlinuxarm.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4960&start=10
I created the samba daemon file nano /etc/rc.d/samba pasted the code in and saved it.
Then made it executable chmod +x /etc/rc.d/samba
I was able to run the rc.d start samba command and the processes started running :D
I did get some errors from the script but hopefully nothing important
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '/etc/rc.d/samba: line 7: stat_busy: command not found
/etc/rc.d/samba: line 22: add_daemon: command not found
/etc/rc.d/samba: line 23: stat_done: command not found
')

Well onto my next hurdle figuring out how to configure Samba. Hope this helps others as much as it has helped me.

Thanks Karog and Campigenus you were spot on.
Koot
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:51 am

Re: Trouble starting Samba on PogoPlug V3 [Solved]

Postby karog » Sat Feb 02, 2013 12:24 am

The reason reinstalling did not work is because it is the latest version of samba that removes the old samba script that we still need.

Here is my most recent /etc/rc.d/samba:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '#!/bin/bash

. /etc/rc.conf
. /etc/rc.d/functions
[ -f /etc/conf.d/samba ] && . /etc/conf.d/samba

[ -z "$SAMBA_DAEMONS" ] && SAMBA_DAEMONS=(smbd nmbd)

case "$1" in
start)
rc=0
stat_busy "Starting Samba Server"
if [ ! -x /var/log/samba ] ; then
install -m755 -d /var/log/samba
fi
for d in ${SAMBA_DAEMONS[@]}; do
PID=`pidof -o %PPID /usr/sbin/$d`
[ -z "$PID" ] && /usr/sbin/$d -D
rc=$(($rc+$?))
done
if [ $rc -gt 0 ]; then
stat_fail
else
add_daemon samba
stat_done
fi
;;
stop)
rc=0
stat_busy "Stopping Samba Server"
for d in ${SAMBA_DAEMONS[@]}; do
PID=`pidof -o %PPID /usr/sbin/$d`
[ -z "$PID" ] || kill $PID &> /dev/null
rc=$(($rc+$?))
done
if [ $rc -gt 0 ]; then
stat_fail
else
rm /run/samba/smbd.pid &>/dev/null
rm /run/samba/nmbd.pid &>/dev/null
rm /run/samba/winbindd.pid &>/dev/null
rm_daemon samba
stat_done
fi
;;
restart)
$0 stop
sleep 1
$0 start
;;
*)
echo "usage: $0 {start|stop|restart}"
esac
exit 0
')
Those error messages are for functions that come from /etc/rc.d/functions which are sourced at the top of the samba script. Are you missing that file too? They just write status messages and add the daemon such that it can be stopped on shutdown.
karog
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:55 pm

Re: Trouble starting Samba on PogoPlug V3 [Solved]

Postby Koot » Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:24 am

I do have the /etc/rc.d/functions file.

I updated my samba file with the code you posted and now I'm not getting any erros when starting samba. I feel more confident it's working properly now.

Thank again karog
Koot
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:51 am

Re: Trouble starting Samba on PogoPlug V3

Postby kuleszdl » Sat Feb 02, 2013 8:34 am

After installing the latest samba I wanted to restart the daemon and I encountered the same problem. I was looking then for a way to enable systemd via uboot kernel parameters but ...

$this->bbcode_second_pass_quote('karog', '
')
My guess is that this is a change toward systemd that arch linux is making but unfortunately oxnas machines cannot make that move and are getting left behind.


... did I understand this correctly, that this is because we cannot pass in kernel parameters at the moment?
kuleszdl
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 11:01 pm

Re: Trouble starting Samba on PogoPlug V3 [Solved]

Postby WarheadsSE » Sat Feb 02, 2013 12:46 pm

No, it is because the kernel does not support the features necessary for systemd.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: Trouble starting Samba on PogoPlug V3 [Solved]

Postby campigenus » Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:46 am

$this->bbcode_second_pass_quote('WarheadsSE', 'N')o, it is because the kernel does not support the features necessary for systemd.



Are the Oxnas boxes ever getting updated kernels and systems?
~~~
"Good behavior is the last refuge of mediocrity."
- Henry S. Haskins
campigenus
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:00 am

Re: Trouble starting Samba on PogoPlug V3 [Solved]

Postby sethjvm » Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:30 am

$this->bbcode_second_pass_quote('campigenus', 'A')re the Oxnas boxes ever getting updated kernels and systems?


Maybe.

viewtopic.php?f=29&t=2031&start=110#p27398
Pogo Plug Pro with ALARM SATA rootfs
success: wireless, samba, sabnzbd, sickbeard, transmission, lamp with Gallery3 and newznab+, rsync server, tor
still trying: avahi, minidlna
up next: asterisk, openvpn, proxy server of some sort
gave up: nfs and lvm
sethjvm
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:36 am
Top


Return to Community Supported

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests