Backup of ArchLinux

This forum is for all other ARMv5 devices

Backup of ArchLinux

Postby megazal » Wed Apr 03, 2013 6:14 pm

I installed ArchLinux on pendrive. Because I'm not sure about quality of this pendrive and I also want to make some tests with a system (I'm still learning how to use it) I want to make a backup. Therefore I have 3 questions for experts.
1) Is it any simple way to make copy of my current system on other pendrive? I don't want to make an image of the disk (I've already made it). I want to make another pendrive that can boot my pogoplug with ArchLinux.
2) When I want to make any changes in Linux (e.g. pacman -Syu) all changes will be saved only on pendrive with system, am I right? I suppose that changes in internal memory of pogoplug were made only during first installation of ArchLinux which replaced original pogoplug system.
3) What will happen when I run pogoplug without pendrive with ArchLinux plugged into the device? Is it dangerous?
megazal

Re: Backup of ArchLinux

Postby Geoff » Wed Apr 03, 2013 6:41 pm

$this->bbcode_second_pass_quote('megazal', '
')1) Is it any simple way to make copy of my current system on other pendrive? I don't want to make an image of the disk (I've already made it). I want to make another pendrive that can boot my pogoplug with ArchLinux.

Here's a thread that discusses it. It's best to copy between flash drives on another linux machine, not to or from a root filesystem that's in use.

')2) When I want to make any changes in Linux (e.g. pacman -Syu) all changes will be saved only on pendrive with system, am I right? I suppose that changes in internal memory of pogoplug were made only during first installation of ArchLinux which replaced original pogoplug system.

Right. The kernel in internal NAND memory doesn't get updated.

')3) What will happen when I run pogoplug without pendrive with ArchLinux plugged into the device? Is it dangerous?