How do vlans work on the clearfog pro?

This forum is for discussion about general software issues.

How do vlans work on the clearfog pro?

Postby djsumdog » Sat Oct 15, 2016 3:33 pm

I've been doing a lot of searching and the only thing remotely useful I've found is this post:

http://superuser.com/questions/1120714/ ... h-in-linux

..and it just left me more confused. I'm just trying to use my Clearfog as a simple router. I've attempted the following. In my
Code: Select all
/etc/systemd/network
I have the following:

Code: Select all
# eth0.network (WAN)
[Match]
Name=eth0

[Network]
DHCP=yes


Code: Select all
# br.netdev
[NetDev]
Name=br0
Kind=bridge


Code: Select all
# br.network
[Match]
Name=br0

[Network]
Address=10.10.8.1/24


Code: Select all
# lan.network
[Match]
Name=lan*

[Network]
Bridge=br0


If I run a DHCP server for the 10.10.8.0 subnet and attempt to get an address from another device, I get nothing; nothing in the ClearFog's logs. I realize eth1 and lan[1-6] have the same MAC address and I'm confused how the interaction between these devices work.

If I don't create the bridge and set eth1 to 10.10.8.1, I still can't ping/dhcp. If I try to create a bridge and add eth1 to it, I get an invalid argument. Also, what is eth2? Is that the SFP port?

What is the correct way to get all my lan ports to work together as a switch and assign that switch an IP address?

I'm on kernel 4.4.22-1 (4.4.24-1 won't boot).
djsumdog
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:22 pm

Re: How do vlans work on the clearfog pro?

Postby djsumdog » Sun Oct 16, 2016 5:23 am

I updated to 4.4.24-2-ARCH on the Clearfog which does boot :)

I've also installed swconfig out of the AUR. However
Code: Select all
swconfig list
returns nothing and if I try
Code: Select all
 swconfig dev ethx show
, I get "Failed to connect to the switch" for eth0, eth1 and eth2. :(
djsumdog
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:22 pm

Re: How do vlans work on the clearfog pro?

Postby djsumdog » Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:08 am

So I attempted Armbian again and get the following in my klog in a loop:

Code: Select all
...
[ 4316.648605] mvneta f1030000.ethernet eth1: [0]: couldn't create dsa switch instance (error -22)
[ 4317.921164] mvneta f1030000.ethernet eth1: [0]: could not detect attached switch
[ 4317.928608] mvneta f1030000.ethernet eth1: [0]: couldn't create dsa switch instance (error -22)
[ 4319.171106] mvneta f1030000.ethernet eth1: [0]: could not detect attached switch
[ 4319.178548] mvneta f1030000.ethernet eth1: [0]: couldn't create dsa switch instance (error -22)
[ 4320.441153] mvneta f1030000.ethernet eth1: [0]: could not detect attached switch
[ 4320.448598] mvneta f1030000.ethernet eth1: [0]: couldn't create dsa switch instance (error -22)
[ 4321.713187] mvneta f1030000.ethernet eth1: [0]: could not detect attached switch
[ 4321.720647] mvneta f1030000.ethernet eth1: [0]: couldn't create dsa switch instance (error -22)
[ 4322.991131] mvneta f1030000.ethernet eth1: [0]: could not detect attached switch
[ 4322.998574] mvneta f1030000.ethernet eth1: [0]: couldn't create dsa switch instance (error -22)
...


I think my board is defective. :(
djsumdog
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:22 pm

Re: How do vlans work on the clearfog pro?

Postby moonman » Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:53 am

But you don't get this on ArchLinux ARM? swconfig is for different switch implementation AFAIK. All switch ports on the clearfog are exposed as lanX devices.

This is how you would do it by hand:

Code: Select all
[root@clearfog ~]# brctl
Usage: brctl [commands]
commands:
        addbr           <bridge>                add bridge
        delbr           <bridge>                delete bridge
        addif           <bridge> <device>       add interface to bridge
        delif           <bridge> <device>       delete interface from bridge
        hairpin         <bridge> <port> {on|off}        turn hairpin on/off
        setageing       <bridge> <time>         set ageing time
        setbridgeprio   <bridge> <prio>         set bridge priority
        setfd           <bridge> <time>         set bridge forward delay
        sethello        <bridge> <time>         set hello time
        setmaxage       <bridge> <time>         set max message age
        setpathcost     <bridge> <port> <cost>  set path cost
        setportprio     <bridge> <port> <prio>  set port priority
        show            [ <bridge> ]            show a list of bridges
        showmacs        <bridge>                show a list of mac addrs
        showstp         <bridge>                show bridge stp info
        stp             <bridge> {on|off}       turn stp on/off
[root@clearfog ~]# brctl addbr br0
[root@clearfog ~]# brctl addif br0 lan1
[root@clearfog ~]# brctl addif br0 lan2
[root@clearfog ~]# brctl addif br0 lan3
[root@clearfog ~]# brctl addif br0 lan4
[root@clearfog ~]# brctl addif br0 lan5
[root@clearfog ~]# brctl addif br0 lan6
[root@clearfog ~]# brctl addif br0 lan7
interface lan7 does not exist!
[root@clearfog ~]# brctl show br0
bridge name     bridge id               STP enabled     interfaces
br0             8000.005043fc5c03       no              lan1
                                                        lan2
                                                        lan3
                                                        lan4
                                                        lan5
                                                        lan6
Pogoplug V4 | GoFlex Home | Raspberry Pi B 512 | CuBox-i4 Pro | ClearFog | BeagleBone Black | Odroid U2 | Odroid C1 | Odroid XU4
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[armv5] Updated U-Boot | |[armv5] How to install my.pogoplug.com service | [armv5] NAND Rescue System
moonman
Developer
 
Posts: 3105
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 3:36 am
Location: Calgary, Canada

Re: How do vlans work on the clearfog pro?

Postby djsumdog » Sun Oct 23, 2016 2:34 pm

This is how you would do it by hand:


I did try it directly with brctl instead of systemd as well. I made the bridge and added the adapters like you show, and also assigned an ip address to the bridge (10.10.8.1/24), however I was still unable to ping other devices connected to the switch ports. In the kernel logs, when I plug in an ethernet cable, it does show the link becoming active.
djsumdog
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:22 pm

Re: How do vlans work on the clearfog pro?

Postby gewoonmaarten » Sun Oct 30, 2016 2:16 pm

hey,
I also have these problems not being able to use the switched ports on the clearfog pro. I posted a multiple questions on superuser and the armbian forum. I also saw your post on the official forum. I recently got this answer on one of my questions:http://forum.armbian.com/index.php/topic/2027-clearfog-pro-how-to-use-switched-6-port-ethernet/?p=17480
Since i have no idea how to use archlinux is was not able to try it yet. Maybe you can get some usefull information from it. let me know if you have some success.
gewoonmaarten
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 2:10 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests