[SOLVED][RPI] [iputils] Can't ping as user

This forum is for discussion about general software issues.

[SOLVED][RPI] [iputils] Can't ping as user

Postby Inglebard » Mon Nov 14, 2016 10:52 am

Hi,

I just noticed with the officlal build it's not possible to ping as normal user.

Code: Select all
ping www.google.com
ping: icmp open socket: Operation not permitted


Reinstall iputils package seems to fix the issue.

Code: Select all
sudo pacman -S iputils


Does the official install method keep all file capabilities ?
Last edited by Inglebard on Tue Nov 15, 2016 6:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Inglebard
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:22 pm

Re: [RPI] [iputils] Can't ping as user

Postby WarheadsSE » Mon Nov 14, 2016 6:35 pm

The official install method, if followed, should keep all capabilities. If you chose to deviate, that is on your end.

Also, don't ping a URL.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6804
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: [RPI] [iputils] Can't ping as user

Postby Inglebard » Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:19 am

Hi WarheadsSE,

Also, don't ping a URL.

Oops, I write wrong but I do right. I edit my post to correspond what I do.

The official install method, if followed, should keep all capabilities. If you chose to deviate, that is on your end.

I followed the official guide (https://archlinuxarm.org/platforms/armv6/raspberry-pi#installation) and the issue happened. However, I didn't check right after a fresh install. I had already some packages installed.

I will check this week-end what happens exactly.
Inglebard
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:22 pm

Re: [RPI] [iputils] Can't ping as user

Postby WarheadsSE » Tue Nov 15, 2016 2:14 pm

Did you use bsdtar?
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6804
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: [RPI] [iputils] Can't ping as user

Postby Inglebard » Tue Nov 15, 2016 4:17 pm

Hmm... you're right. I use tar instead of bsdtar.

Can tar create this issue ?

EDIT : I just make a reinstall with bsdtar and solve the issue. Thanks.
Inglebard
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:22 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests