SSH Login Problem (New Setup)

Raspberry Pi 2

SSH Login Problem (New Setup)

Postby TerryG » Sun Jan 03, 2016 2:42 pm

hi, i am new to the Raspberry Pi world, having just got my first board, i have been a long time Arch Linux user but i seem to be facing a problem with Arch ARM, i have followed the directions on the PI2 setup page
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'http://archlinuxarm.org/platforms/armv7/broadcom/raspberry-pi-2#qt-platform_tabs-ui-tabs2')

all goes well until i try and access the pi via SSH, i have tried root@192.168.0.8 (this is the IP address assigned by the router) and i enter root as the password as suggested in the last line of the setup instructions
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'The default root password is root.')
however i get permission denied error and after 3 attemptes its fails, i have also tried using alarm@192.168.0.8 and using alarm as the password as suggested in the setup instructions and again the same problem happens, i have also tried swapping the passwords (hey just for giggles like i know that will never work but try everything right? )

has anyone got any experiance with this error.

on a side not i have tried placing the micro SD card back in to my card reader and the root partition is not accesable to my main Arch install so i can not modify or read through any of the ssh config files.

Thanx In Advance
TerryG

Re: SSH Login Problem (New Setup)

Postby WarheadsSE » Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:47 pm

You can't log in asroot over ssh without changing the default config.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer

Postby TerryG » Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:56 pm