C2 Have a 4.x Kernel Yet?

This forum is for topics dealing with problems with software specifically in the AArch64 repo.

C2 Have a 4.x Kernel Yet?

Postby cachedrive » Mon Dec 19, 2016 7:56 pm

Curious if the C2 has a 4.x kernel yet or is it still using the 3.8 kernel?
cachedrive
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 5:07 pm

Re: C2 Have a 4.x Kernel Yet?

Postby cachedrive » Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:44 pm

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '[root@alarm ~]# uname -r
3.14.79-12-ARCH')

Newp
cachedrive
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 5:07 pm

Re: C2 Have a 4.x Kernel Yet?

Postby graysky » Wed Dec 21, 2016 6:50 pm

I just tried booting the aarch64 kernel (4.9-2) on the C2 but it failed to boot. No debugging info out the HDMI.
graysky
Developer
 
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 6:56 am
Location: /run/user/1000

Re: C2 Have a 4.x Kernel Yet?

Postby cachedrive » Thu Dec 22, 2016 12:39 am

Try again? I had no issues.
cachedrive
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 5:07 pm

Re: C2 Have a 4.x Kernel Yet?

Postby graysky » Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:00 am

You were able to boot your C2 using [core]/linux-aarch64 ? What modifications were needed? Mine did not output anything via HDMI to the monitor, just appeared to hang there.
graysky
Developer
 
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 6:56 am
Location: /run/user/1000

Re: C2 Have a 4.x Kernel Yet?

Postby cachedrive » Thu Dec 22, 2016 2:50 pm

Yeah - tried again too and had no issues on a new 128GB card. I followed the instructions word for word (minus setting screen resolution)

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '[root@alarm ~]# uname -a
Linux alarm 3.14.79-12-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Nov 21 20:54:56 MST 2016 aarch64 GNU/Linux')
cachedrive
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 5:07 pm

Re: C2 Have a 4.x Kernel Yet?

Postby graysky » Thu Dec 22, 2016 6:03 pm

$this->bbcode_second_pass_quote('cachedrive', 'Y')eah - tried again too and had no issues on a new 128GB card. I followed the instructions word for word (minus setting screen resolution)

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '[root@alarm ~]# uname -a
Linux alarm 3.14.79-12-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Nov 21 20:54:56 MST 2016 aarch64 GNU/Linux')


@cachedrive - Your uname output would suggest that you're not booting the 4.9 kernel...
graysky
Developer
 
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 6:56 am
Location: /run/user/1000

Re: C2 Have a 4.x Kernel Yet?

Postby SonOfToil » Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:12 am

# uname -a
Linux MXQPROPLUS 4.10.0-rc4 #6 SMP PREEMPT Fri Jan 20 16:40:03 PST 2017 aarch64 GNU/Linux

I have 4.10-rc4 booting on my MXQ Pro Plus Android box (I'm using buildroot). It's quite straight forward

Edit: I also had 4.9 booting but USB and MMC support only arrived in 4.10

I am currently using the meson-gxbb-odroidc2.dts so I lose a few features but I imagine it should work fine. I will test when my odroid-c2 arrives tomorrow

Any AMLogic device tree gurus who can help understand how to translate the DTs?
SonOfToil
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:07 am

Re: C2 Have a 4.x Kernel Yet?

Postby oreggin » Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:34 pm

Hi,

You can boot linux-aarch64 on C2 with a little trick. First of all, hardkernel's u-boot can't boot vanilla Image, so you should convert it to uImage. After that you should reposition the kernel address from 0x11000000 to 0x1080000:

/boot/make_uImage.sh:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
#!/bin/sh
address_uImage='0x1080000'
address_uInitrd='0x13000000'
version=`cat ../etc/mkinitcpio.d/linux-aarch64.preset | grep ALL_kver | cut -d= -f2 | sed -e 's/\"//g'`
mkimage -A arm64 -O linux -C none -T kernel -a $address_uImage -e $address_uImage -n "uImage-$version" -d Image uImage
mkimage -A arm64 -O linux -C none -T ramdisk -a $address_uInitrd -e $address_uInitrd -n "uInitrd-$version" -d initramfs-linux.img uInitrd
mkimage -A arm64 -O linux -C none -T ramdisk -a $address_uInitrd -e $address_uInitrd -n "uInitrd-$version-fallback" -d initramfs-linux-fallback.img uInitrd-fallback
')

/boot/boot.ini:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
setenv bootargs "console=ttyAML0,115200 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rootwait rw fsck.fix=yes net.ifnames=0"

setenv loadaddr "0x1080000"
setenv dtb_loadaddr "0x1000000"
setenv initrd_loadaddr "0x13000000"
load mmc 0:1 ${loadaddr} /uImage
load mmc 0:1 ${dtb_loadaddr} /dtbs/amlogic/meson-gxbb-odroidc2.dtb
load mmc 0:1 ${initrd_loadaddr} /uInitrd
fdt addr ${dtb_loadaddr}
bootm ${loadaddr} ${initrd_loadaddr}:${filesize} ${dtb_loadaddr}
')

This work for me:

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
[oreggin@odroid-c2 ~]$ uname -a
Linux odroid-c2 4.10.1-1-ARCH #1 SMP Sun Feb 26 18:30:04 MST 2017 aarch64 GNU/Linux
[oreggin@odroid-c2 ~]$ dmesg | head
[ 0.000000] Booting Linux on physical CPU 0x0
[ 0.000000] Linux version 4.10.1-1-ARCH (builduser@leming) (gcc version 6.3.1 20170109 (GCC) ) #1 SMP Sun Feb 26 18:30:04 MST 2017
[ 0.000000] Boot CPU: AArch64 Processor [410fd034]
[ 0.000000] efi: Getting EFI parameters from FDT:
[ 0.000000] efi: UEFI not found.
[ 0.000000] cma: Reserved 512 MiB at 0x0000000040000000
[ 0.000000] On node 0 totalpages: 30432
[ 0.000000] DMA zone: 30 pages used for memmap
[ 0.000000] DMA zone: 0 pages reserved
[ 0.000000] DMA zone: 30432 pages, LIFO batch:1
[oreggin@odroid-c2 ~]$
')

Regards,
oreggin
oreggin
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 4:20 pm

Re: C2 Have a 4.x Kernel Yet?

Postby Taijian » Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:14 am

Could you provide some more details on how well it actually works, besides booting up? Like: Does HDMI video work? Audio? How about USB controller, MMC, etc.? Or is there something that's noticeably missing?
Taijian
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2017 4:09 pm

Next

Return to ARMv8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests