newest rpi-kodi-update breaks other audio applications

This forum is for topics dealing with problems with software specifically in the AArch64 repo.

Re: newest rpi-kodi-update breaks other audio applications

Postby graysky » Thu Mar 04, 2021 7:14 pm

It needs to be there in order for Kodi to work. If you discovered a bug, please report it: https://github.com/raspberrypi/linux/issues
graysky
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 6:56 am
Location: /run/user/1000

Re: newest rpi-kodi-update breaks other audio applications

Postby ktibor » Fri Mar 05, 2021 9:09 am

According to the post:
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 8#p1636828

I changed the configuration file: /usr/share/alsa/cards/vc4-hdmi.conf

Now the output from "aplay -L" is:

default
Default ALSA Output (currently PulseAudio Sound Server)
sysdefault:CARD=vc4hdmi0
vc4-hdmi-0, MAI PCM vc4-hdmi-hifi-0
Default Audio Device
hdmi:CARD=vc4hdmi0,DEV=0
vc4-hdmi-0, MAI PCM vc4-hdmi-hifi-0
HDMI Audio Output
usbstream:CARD=vc4hdmi0
vc4-hdmi-0
USB Stream Output
sysdefault:CARD=vc4hdmi1
vc4-hdmi-1, MAI PCM vc4-hdmi-hifi-0
Default Audio Device
hdmi:CARD=vc4hdmi1,DEV=0
vc4-hdmi-1, MAI PCM vc4-hdmi-hifi-0
HDMI Audio Output
usbstream:CARD=vc4hdmi1
vc4-hdmi-1
USB Stream Output

The hdmi/passthrough is working in kodi. For pulseaudio some tweaking will be needed also.
ktibor
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2021 8:53 am

Re: newest rpi-kodi-update breaks other audio applications

Postby graysky » Fri Mar 05, 2021 12:03 pm

Not sure what we can do about providing that alternative version of /usr/share/alsa/cards/vc4-hdmi.conf that is needed when using the overlay...

I can change the behavior of kodi.service to work with pulseaudio out-of-the-box but doing so means users will have to shutdown their systems using Kodi. See: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ko ... ne_service
graysky
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 6:56 am
Location: /run/user/1000

Re: newest rpi-kodi-update breaks other audio applications

Postby solskogen » Thu Mar 11, 2021 12:57 pm

I found a workaround for having sound with kms over hdmi.

In config.txt
Code: Select all
dtparam=audio=on
dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d,cma-512,noaudio


It has to be in that order. The other way around will not work (at least not yet)
solskogen
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:41 am

Re: newest rpi-kodi-update breaks other audio applications

Postby graysky » Thu Mar 11, 2021 3:16 pm

@solskogen - can you briefly describe your hardware setup? Anything out of the ordinary such as HDMI audio extractor etc?

To me, a "standard" setup would be: RPi4 (kodi package defaults) without pulseaudio with a standard uHDMI-to-HDMI cable.
graysky
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 6:56 am
Location: /run/user/1000

Re: newest rpi-kodi-update breaks other audio applications

Postby solskogen » Thu Mar 11, 2021 6:45 pm

Sorry, I should've done that.

This is a Raspberry Pi 400. Kodi is not involved, at all. The Pi is connected directly to the monitor via a mini-HDMI to HDMI cable. Pulseaudio is not installed.
solskogen
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:41 am

Previous

Return to ARMv8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests