Remote Access & VPN Server?

Talk about the project itself, the community, where we are and what we need. Great place to introduce yourself and make friends as well.

Remote Access & VPN Server?

Postby linuxguy » Mon May 07, 2012 5:34 pm

I'm currently considering a Pogoplug Mobile or a POGO-V4-A3-01. I have no experience with these devices but have gobs of Linux experience. I'm having trouble finding technical details on what I want to do. Most of what I find is rather dated (2009-2010) and so I don't know if its current information.

My requirements are rather simple. Simply need an installation of a Linux ARM distro which stays current with SSH, SSL, OpenVPN and/or PPTP security issues. Down the road, apache or ngix might be an option but certainly not a requrement. Of course, a well maintained kernel is assumed; with 2.6 minimum and 3.x preferred.

Need to support multiple users, so a gutted Linux distro which assumes all access is as root doesn't work for me.

Optional support for NFS (client and server) would be great.

Support for ext4 is preferred but not required. Use of ext2 and/or squashfs for /boot is acceptible.

Optional support for iptables and general routing/filtering.

And so the question becomes, is this a good, simple, reliable platform which will support my requirements?

if you care, this device will sit behind a firewall against a T1, so I don't really have CPU throughput concerns. I doubt I will add external storage, but if I do, I imagine it will be a simple USB thumb drive.

Oh ya, of the two devices above, which would you prefer and why? This sound like a good fit for this class of device? BTW, which ARM series are the CPUs in those devices?

Lastly, is there a resource which speaks to which distributions are available? Which package management tools they use? Which CPU variants are supported? Which ones are well maintained and active?

If this sounds like a good match, links to conversion/installation howtos would be great.

Thanks.