Does ALARM support 10GbE NIC?

Ask questions about Arch Linux ARM. Please search before making a new topic.

Does ALARM support 10GbE NIC?

Postby Excalibur » Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:27 pm

I currently bought an ESPRESSObin to play with and came up with this idea: hook up a 10GbE card on that mPCIE slot with something like this. However I'm a bit worried about the driver and wanna make sure I can get something to work before pulling the trigger. Any info regarding this will be very helpful. Thanks.
Excalibur
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Does ALARM support 10GbE NIC?

Postby WarheadsSE » Thu Apr 26, 2018 4:04 pm

In theory, if the driver is in the mainline kernel tree, it should be possible.

Remember, that 10GbE is limited by the PCIe bus, the memory, and any associated storage medium.

What are you planning to use 10GbE for?
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: Does ALARM support 10GbE NIC?

Postby Excalibur » Sat May 12, 2018 10:56 pm

I'm thinking about using 10GbE for samba. So far I got the Mellanox ConnectX-2 card recognized by the system:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
[alarm@alarm ~]$ sudo lspci -vvv
00:00.0 Ethernet controller: Mellanox Technologies MT26448 [ConnectX EN 10GigE, PCIe 2.0 5GT/s] (rev b0)
Subsystem: Mellanox Technologies Device 0015
Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 32 bytes
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 0
Region 0: Memory at e8800000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1M]
Region 2: Memory at e8000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=8M]
Expansion ROM at e8900000 [disabled] [size=1M]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
Capabilities: [48] Vital Product Data
Product Name: DELL ConnectX-2 SFP+
Read-only fields:
[PN] Part number: 0RT8N1
[EC] Engineering changes: A00
[SN] Serial number: ------------------------------------
[V0] Vendor specific: PCIe Gen2 x8
[RV] Reserved: checksum good, 0 byte(s) reserved
Read/write fields:
[V1] Vendor specific: N/A
[YA] Asset tag: N/A
[RW] Read-write area: 99 byte(s) free
End
Capabilities: [9c] MSI-X: Enable- Count=128 Masked-
Vector table: BAR=0 offset=0007c000
PBA: BAR=0 offset=0007d000
Capabilities: [60] Express (v2) Endpoint, MSI 00
DevCap: MaxPayload 256 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <64ns, L1 unlimited
ExtTag- AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE+ FLReset+ SlotPowerLimit 0.000W
DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-
RlxdOrd- ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop- FLReset-
MaxPayload 256 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes
DevSta: CorrErr- UncorrErr- FatalErr- UnsuppReq- AuxPwr- TransPend-
LnkCap: Port #8, Speed 5GT/s, Width x8, ASPM L0s, Exit Latency L0s unlimited
ClockPM- Surprise- LLActRep- BwNot- ASPMOptComp-
LnkCtl: ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- CommClk-
ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-
LnkSta: Speed 5GT/s, Width x1, TrErr- Train- SlotClk- DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-
DevCap2: Completion Timeout: Range ABCD, TimeoutDis+, LTR-, OBFF Not Supported
AtomicOpsCap: 32bit- 64bit- 128bitCAS-
DevCtl2: Completion Timeout: 50us to 50ms, TimeoutDis-, LTR-, OBFF Disabled
AtomicOpsCtl: ReqEn-
LnkCtl2: Target Link Speed: 5GT/s, EnterCompliance- SpeedDis-
Transmit Margin: Normal Operating Range, EnterModifiedCompliance- ComplianceSOS-
Compliance De-emphasis: -6dB
LnkSta2: Current De-emphasis Level: -6dB, EqualizationComplete-, EqualizationPhase1-
EqualizationPhase2-, EqualizationPhase3-, LinkEqualizationRequest-
Capabilities: [100 v1] Alternative Routing-ID Interpretation (ARI)
ARICap: MFVC- ACS-, Next Function: 0
ARICtl: MFVC- ACS-, Function Group: 0
Capabilities: [148 v1] Device Serial Number -----------------------------------------
')
However the driver is not included so I have to build it from source. Following https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co ... nel_module:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
# Download toolchain and header for ESPRESSObin
yaourt -S base-devel linux-espressobin-headers

# Download PKGBUILD for kernel
mkdir linux-espressobin
cd linux-espressobin/
wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/archlinuxarm/PKGBUILDs/master/core/linux-espressobin/PKGBUILD

# Download kernel and apply patches
# makepkg -o
#==> Making package: linux-espressobin 4.16.6-1 (Sat May 12 17:45:42 CDT 2018)
#==> Checking runtime dependencies...
#==> Checking buildtime dependencies...
#==> Missing dependencies:
# -> xmlto
# -> docbook-xsl
# -> bc
#==> ERROR: Could not resolve all dependencies.
#
#==> ERROR: An unknown error has occurred. Exiting...
')
My problem so far is to get PKGBUILD.prepare() running. I didn't see that as an option in makepkg -h. The closest thing seems to be "-o, --nobuild Download and extract files only" but that doesn't work as you can see the error message above. Any helps?
Excalibur
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Does ALARM support 10GbE NIC?

Postby Excalibur » Sat May 12, 2018 11:10 pm

Thought someone else might be interested in connecting PCIe card to ESPRESSObin. I'm using a "Mini PCI-E Riser Card" ($8.51) to convert the socket which has a 4 pin male for powering the card, and a "4 pin Splitter" ($0.77) as ESPRESSObin's 4 pin output is also male so I use that to connect both male plugs. Just search those terms in ebay and you will find it. I included the price which was the lowest so you can filter out unrelated stuff.
Excalibur
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Does ALARM support 10GbE NIC?

Postby WarheadsSE » Mon May 14, 2018 3:00 am

The warnings you see from `makepkg` are because the build dependencies are not installed.

There are a few things I would suggest, and one of them is required.

Use `makechrootpkg` instead of `makepkg` directly. This builds in a clean chroot, preventing pollution of the host with packages that are not needed. This is a part of the `devtools` package and wraps many things about `makepkg`. See `makechrootpkg -h` for further details.

Use `makepkg`'s `-s/--syncdeps` to ensure build dependencies are pulled & installed, so this message doesn't happen. If used, also consider `-r/--rmdeps` to keep system pollution low.
Core Developer
Remember: Arch Linux ARM is entirely community donation supported!
WarheadsSE
Developer
 
Posts: 6807
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:12 pm

Re: Does ALARM support 10GbE NIC?

Postby coolHacker » Mon Jun 04, 2018 8:32 am

What are you planning to use 10GbE for?
coolHacker
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 2:25 pm


Return to User Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests