AUR on ArchLinux ARM?

Ask questions about Arch Linux ARM. Please search before making a new topic.

AUR on ArchLinux ARM?

Postby Amphitryon » Mon May 03, 2021 1:49 pm

Like Chefkoch, I am also trying a Raspberry Pi 3B as a normal desktop having been using Arch on X86 for years.

What do other people do for packages that are not pre-built in Arch ARM?

In Arch X86 there is the AUR but I don't see an equivalent for ARM; have I missed it somewhere? What I have done so far is clone the package from the Arch X86 AUR, update the arch= line in the PKGBUILD to include aarch64 and then build it with makepkg as normal. Is that the best way?
Amphitryon
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2021 7:17 pm

Re: AUR on ArchLinux ARM?

Postby graysky » Mon May 03, 2021 3:38 pm

As long as the code can compile on armv7h or aarch64, you can build them on your Arch ARM device. There are exceptions but many just work. Build with the -A switch to ignore the arch array.
graysky
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 6:56 am
Location: /run/user/1000

Re: AUR on ArchLinux ARM?

Postby bulletmark » Mon May 03, 2021 9:31 pm

And if you test the code and it runs OK then send a message to the AUR maintainer asking him to add that architecture to the PKGBUILD.
bulletmark
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 10:17 pm


Return to User Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests