SSH connection at first boot on raspberry pi

Ask questions about Arch Linux ARM. Please search before making a new topic.

SSH connection at first boot on raspberry pi

Postby sanjibukai » Thu Mar 24, 2016 4:13 pm

Hello,

I have some debian experience regarding the linux universe..
I'm using debian on a macbook air and I'm also playing around for a while with debian (raspbian) on a raspberry 1 model B (yes the first version even before the B+)
But for a long time I wanted to start to play on the next level i.e. with arch linux..

But before going with the desktop (the macbook air) I tried with the raspberry following (check the installation tab) this very concise tutorial

After doing all the steps I plugged the ethernet and I try to log in with SSH.
I was unable to login with the "alarm" login but I did login with the "root" user..
(After loged in I checked the passwd file in /etc/ and I noticed that there was no alarm user, but this is not important..)

The first thing I did was to make a system update, then installing python in order to perform the following benchmark by executing the python script.
After running many bench, I then shutdown the raspberry...
But I never suceed to login again using SSH (i.e. $ ssh root@192.168.1.15 )

Can anyone explain what happen ?

I saw on some forums that openssh should be installed and some configuration like $this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'PermitRootLogin yes')
But why it works the first time ?

I plan to restart the installation of arch from scratch but I want to know what happen...
Also, anyone know if it is possible to install archlinux using an image insteed of downloading everytime as it does in the tutorial.

Thank you again and excuse me for my poor english..

NB : Since I have two raspberry 1 model B, I did the test on both rasp, one under raspbian and the other under archlinux...
I expected to get best results with the archlinux one, since I installed nothing except python..