Installing ARM Arch on Tablet

Ask questions about Arch Linux ARM. Please search before making a new topic.

Installing ARM Arch on Tablet

Postby wulfspider » Tue Sep 06, 2016 7:22 pm

Hey guys,

I'm a student and I'm looking for a solution to take notes in my courses, which is also compatible to the documents and software on my PC. The price / perfomance ratio for the current notebooks is bad, so I wondered whether I get running Arch with Gnome shell natively on my tablet without chroot. It's a Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014 Edition).

I think it's a nice project and I have some time until the next semester starts. It would be very cool if you help and support me here in this thread! :) I will upload all my work to Github (if I get something useful).

So, what do I need? I think the main problem is to get a working kernel and the drivers. Is it possible to use them from this project [1] ? Links to Github are at the bottom of the first post.
Is there a better alternative to get a working kernel? Version 4.x (was it 4.6?) of the official Linux Kernel should have a better ARM support, but I think there are missing some drivers though.

Setting up the ARM Arch Linux system shouldn't be the problem. I haven't done anything with this distribution yet, but I hope it is a simple pacstrap command. My plan is to install the ARM Arch Linux into a raw image which I can flash to my device later. For testing I'm should be able to boot from it with some Qemu magic I think.

Which possibilities for flashing do I have? The only solution I know would be over TWRP / adb.

Thanks in advance for your replies :)

[1] http://forum.xda-developers.com/galaxy-note-10-2014/orig-development/lt03wifi-cm13-0-unofficial-builds-t3332894
wulfspider

Re: Installing ARM Arch on Tablet

Postby WarheadsSE » Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:22 am

Arch Linux ARM*