Asus Chromebook Flip C100 Won't Boot

Ask questions about Arch Linux ARM. Please search before making a new topic.

Asus Chromebook Flip C100 Won't Boot

Postby LukeWarmpocket » Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:22 pm

I followed the install instructions on here to the letter, but when I reboot and press Ctrl + U to boot the Arch USB the boot hangs on 2 processes: Network Service and Create Volatile Files and Directories. I've tried hunting for an answer to this problem and while I found another post on here with a user that said they had the same problem and resolved it by downgrading systemd, I'm still lost as to how to accomplish that.

I'm just getting into Arch and have a great deal to learn, so I apologize if this is a stupid question, but any and all help provided will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
LukeWarmpocket

Re: Asus Chromebook Flip C100 Won't Boot

Postby manamoo » Sat May 02, 2020 11:13 am

Did you ever resolve this? I have the same problem. Thanks.
manamoo

Postby nzchrisw » Thu May 14, 2020 2:58 am

Noobie here... (so treat my input with caution!)

Try following the instructions on this page:
https://github.com/nikolas-n/GNU-Linux- ... Chromebook
relating to archlinuxarm - these are designed to address exactly this problem. Might be easiest to edit it from the terminal shell sudo su from Chrome OS, or from Crouton or a separate (working) arch instance if you have an older one already.

It worked for me from a December 2019 image, but I don't profess to understand systemd or the resolver service enough to know why (but really really wish I did).
I did find it pretty touch-and-go running pacman -Syu though. It messes with the changes and re applying them doesn't seem to always work 100%... The author of the page I cited suggested not updating.. :o(
So I've only been running pacman -Syu to update the package list, and then manually updating what I need to.