Change Primary Drive

Ask questions about Arch Linux ARM. Please search before making a new topic.

Change Primary Drive

Postby Hardworking » Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:29 am

Hello All,

I am new to Arch and I have a question.

Last night I successfully installed the system onto a GoFlex Net, however, I have a question. The drive I had in the system last night is 500GB and I have another that is 750GB and would like to swap them over. Is this possible, or do I need to reinstall from scratch?

Any guidance would be much appreciated.

PS - Fantastic site!

Cheers
John
Hardworking

Re: Change Primary Drive

Postby kmihelich » Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:25 am

Just partition, format, label, extract the rootfs. Essentially steps 8-12, and 18 of the install guide, adjusted appropriately for the disk you're working on. After you have the new disk set up, shut down the plug, swap drives out, power it back on.
Arch Linux ARM exists and continues to grow through community support, please donate today!
kmihelich
Developer

Postby Hardworking » Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:35 am

Excellent!! Thank you!!

I wasn't sure how to do it and didn't want to stuff it up.

I guess the only other question I need to know is what happens if that drive dies? If the OS is on that driver, what happens to the NAS?

I am a noob, and trying to educate myself, but its a bit of information overload right now. :(
Hardworking

Postby kmihelich » Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:40 am

If the drive dies, you just set up another drive.. nothing special. If you have data on another drive plugged in, that data isn't affected. It's like any other drive death scenario.
Arch Linux ARM exists and continues to grow through community support, please donate today!
kmihelich
Developer

Postby Hardworking » Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:53 am

Ok... so what you are saying is.... If the drive dies, I should still be able to SSH into the NAS and setup a new one? Is that right?