Can't mount root directory to ext4 partition

Ask questions about Arch Linux ARM. Please search before making a new topic.

Can't mount root directory to ext4 partition

Postby wehrmacht121136 » Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:36 pm

Hey guys, newbie here. I'm currently trying to install Arch ARM on an SD card for my RPI2. I can successfully create the partitions.

/dev/mmcblk0p1
/dev/mmcblk0p2

I'm using my current arch distro on my laptop and used fdisk to write the partitions.

The issue I'm running into is a couple of things. First off, I'm at the step where I make the file system. The instructions read:

mkfs.vfat /dev/mmcblk0p1
mkdir boot
mount /dev/mmcblk0p1 boot

When I try to make the boot directory, I get an error message saying boot already exists. Which I don't understand since the SD card was completely wiped. I have no idea why it says that.

But because I wanted to troubleshoot, I ignored the error and mounted whatever existing boot directory it found and mounted it successfully. Not really sure what's going on there.

My next problem comes when I try to make the fs and mount the second partition:

mkfs.ext4 /dev/mmcblk0p2
mkdir root
mount /dev/mmcblk0p2 root

I run into the same issue when making the directory, it says it already exists. But if I ignore it and try to mount it, it gives me this error:

EXT4-fs (mmcblk0p2): error loading journal
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/mmcblk0p2,
missing codepage or helper program or other error

I've searched and haven't really been able to find a solution to this problem. Can you help me?
wehrmacht121136
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:03 pm

Re: Can't mount root directory to ext4 partition

Postby wehrmacht121136 » Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:37 pm

UPDATE: I wrote all partitions and filesystems in a root terminal

UPDATE: When checking my partitions, I noticed my boot partition was only 50kb, I forgot the M in the +100M., After fixing this and running the commands, I still get the same errors.
wehrmacht121136
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:03 pm

Re: Can't mount root directory to ext4 partition

Postby eduardfaber » Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:38 pm

When I try to make the boot directory, I get an error message saying boot already exists.

What was your current directory? Was it / ?
/boot and /root already exists!
the whole sequence with cd /tmp.
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
cd /tmp

mkfs.vfat /dev/mmcblk0p1
mkdir boot
mount /dev/mmcblk0p1 boot

mkfs.ext4 /dev/mmcblk0p2
mkdir root
mount /dev/mmcblk0p2 root
')
If you have still troubles, please give the output of
mkfs.ext4 /dev/mmcblk0p2
and
mkfs.vfat /dev/mmcblk0p1

Ed Faber
eduardfaber
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Can't mount root directory to ext4 partition

Postby wehrmacht121136 » Thu Dec 15, 2016 8:03 pm

mkdir: cannot create directory boot: File exists
Same thing for root. There's no /. It's hard to describe but there are two small, white squares around the word boot and root.

Like []boot[] but complete squares and much smaller lol




mkfs.vfat /dev/mmcblk0p1
outputs:
mkfs.fat 4.0 (2016-05-06)

mkfs.ext4 /dev/mmcblk0p2
outputs:
mke2fs 1.43.3 (04-Sep-2016)
Discarding device blocks: done
Creating filesystem with 1945088 4k blocks and 486720 inodes
Filesystem UUID: 6f72bad3-5b6b-4afa-95d0-334a54396ccd
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
32768, 98304, 163840, 229376, 594912, 819200, 884736, 1605632

Allocating group tables: done
Writing inode tables: done
Creating journal (16384 blocks): done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done


That's both my outputs.
wehrmacht121136
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:03 pm

Re: Can't mount root directory to ext4 partition

Postby eduardfaber » Thu Dec 15, 2016 9:38 pm

and can you post the output of
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', '
ls -l
pwd
')
?
eduardfaber
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Can't mount root directory to ext4 partition

Postby wehrmacht121136 » Fri Dec 16, 2016 12:51 am

$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'ls -l
total 48
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Dec 14 18:16 boot
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Dec 14 18:53 boota
drwxr-xr-x 3 nickademus users 4096 Nov 30 20:49 Desktop
drwxr-xr-x 2 nickademus users 4096 Dec 12 16:38 Documents
drwxr-xr-x 2 nickademus users 4096 Dec 12 12:59 Downloads
drwxr-xr-x 2 nickademus users 4096 Apr 10 2016 Music
drwxr-xr-x 2 nickademus users 4096 May 5 2016 Pictures
drwxr-xr-x 2 nickademus users 4096 Apr 10 2016 Public
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Dec 14 18:22 root
-rwxr-xr-x 1 nickademus users 3905 Nov 30 18:48 strap.sh
drwxr-xr-x 2 nickademus users 4096 Apr 10 2016 Templates
drwxr-xr-x 2 nickademus users 4096 Apr 10 2016 Videos
')
wehrmacht121136
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:03 pm

Re: Can't mount root directory to ext4 partition

Postby eduardfaber » Fri Dec 16, 2016 1:20 pm

You cannot create the directories because they do already exitst.
Dec 14 18:16 boot
Dec 14 18:22 root

The command mkdir boot creates a directory with the name "boot" in the CURRENT directory. I assume the current directory
is /home/nickademus. It is ofcourse not on the sd card. The sdcard is new formatted and not yet mounted to your system.

About the error on the mount command.
execute the mount command again(from the correct working directory, so directory "root" can be found) an execute the command:
$this->bbcode_second_pass_code('', 'dmesg|tail')
Please post that output.
eduardfaber
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Can't mount root directory to ext4 partition

Postby wehrmacht121136 » Fri Dec 16, 2016 7:51 pm

I apologize but my Arch on my laptop just broke, lol. I'm currently getting that reinstalled. I will probably have it back up and running in 1-2 days
My ASUS is weird and it takes A LOT of trial and error to *properly* install Arch on that laptop. You'd think I'd have written down the steps last time, but I guess I wasn't that intelligent.

Anyway, I'll have that up and running in a day or two and try all this again, if I run into the exact same issue, then I'll go through your steps. If I don't, I'll come back and let you know so you're not waiting for a response that never comes.

Correct me if I'm wrong, you're saying I need to cd to boot directory to mount boot, then I need to cd to the root directory and then mount root to the SD card? Or am I not understanding what you're getting at.
wehrmacht121136
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:03 pm

Re: Can't mount root directory to ext4 partition

Postby eduardfaber » Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:08 pm

No, just stay in your working directory. After the reinstall
your created directories[root/boot] are gone anyway.
Ed Faber
eduardfaber
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Can't mount root directory to ext4 partition

Postby wehrmacht121136 » Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:18 pm

$this->bbcode_second_pass_quote('eduardfaber', 'A')fter the reinstall your created directories[root/boot] are gone anyway.


Well sure, but they'll be back after I install the distro. So I'll run into the same problem, won't I?
wehrmacht121136
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:03 pm

Next

Return to User Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests