[SOLVED] Cubietruck no ethernet, keyboard not been recognize

This forum is for supported devices using an ARMv7 Allwinner SoC.

[SOLVED] Cubietruck no ethernet, keyboard not been recognize

Postby nobodySpecial » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:23 pm

Hello,

i got little stuck, during my cubietruck setup.
My Target was to move the rootfs to an ssd.
Boot should be done by the SD-Card.

After the changes in the boot.scr on the SD-Card,
the rootfs was successfully found on the SSD,
but i wasn't able to connect via ssh... "Destination Host Unreachable"
So i plugged in my keyboard and add a monitor via vga,
but my keyboard won't work. No Lights from Num-LED or caps lock.
Even the workaround via usb-hub, from google groups, doesn't work
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/linux-sunxi/pOZTHWvrov0

I also tried to Reset the RTC Battery as described here
https://archlinuxarm.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=9037&hilit=Cubietruck+cubietruck+keyboard

Image

I have no clue what to do now.
I hope you guy's can help me.

cheers
nobody
Last edited by nobodySpecial on Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
nobodySpecial
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:15 pm

Re: Cubietruck no working ethernet, keyboard not been recogn

Postby summers » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:39 am

At home could see your screen shot - but not here at work.

From what I saw looked like you weren't seeing any output from the kernel, so hard to say why it was going wrong.

The device tree chosen:

https://github.com/torvalds/linux/blob/master/arch/arm/boot/dts/sun7i-a20-cubietruck.dts

says it writes to uart0, that sounds suspiciously like serial output, but you said you plugged in keyboard (usb?) and vga monitor - so you aren't accessing the serial connection.

But this said, uboot was giving output on the screen, so it knows about the vga.

Me, I'd find the uart on the board and plug in a serial connection - but my gut feeling is what do others say that have this hardware?

Image

Ah yes http://linux-sunxi.org/Cubietech_Cubietruck shows where the uart is. Its TTL, so 3.3V. Do you have an adapter?
summers
 
Posts: 502
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Cubietruck no working ethernet, keyboard not been recogn

Postby nobodySpecial » Thu Jun 14, 2018 5:10 pm

The output from kernel start till the login screen runs very fast.
I tried to capture it, as good as i could, but the there are not really good qualitiy :oops:
I recognized that the network service manager didn't startup.
Any way to fix this without a keyboard? :roll:

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Yes it's a usb keyboard and no, I don't have such an adapter.
But i guess there aren't that expensive.
nobodySpecial
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:15 pm

Re: Cubietruck no working ethernet, keyboard not been recogn

Postby summers » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:09 pm

Can't see much from the photos but ...

Two penguins - this is what linux shows when you have two cores, *and* it detects the screen. So linux knows about the VGA screen. Thats a start ...

Last image looks suspiciously like it is saying "login:" is so - you have reached the login prompt. This means that the kernel has booted, and passed across to run things. So nothing major going wrong.

But you say, it doesn't detect the keyboard. Now it has detected a screen - so if that is set up, then I'd expect the keyboard to be set up. Have you tried another keyboard? That may be the fault.

But also the ethernet not comming up. So your dhcp server hasn't offered an IP? Or detected the device? If so usually ethernet driver not loaded, but if this worked before - have to wonder what changed.

UART cable for TTL voltages, this is the one I'd suggest http://www.ftdichip.com/Products/Cables/RPi.htm - but given how close you are to booting, maybe see what anyone says with the same hardware says - alas I don't know your hardware, so I'm guessing a lot here.
summers
 
Posts: 502
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Cubietruck no working ethernet, keyboard not been recogn

Postby nobodySpecial » Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:23 pm

I just have another wireless keyboard and i really doubt, that
it will work by just plugging in. I tested the usb keyboard on my Dell, and it works there.

Your adapter is pretty expensive on amazon :|
Will this adapter work too?
https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B01N9R ... 7QA3&psc=1

Here's a list with the Hardware i use.
    Cubietruck v1.0-0606
    LogicTech K120 USB-Keyboard
    FritzBox Router
    SSD OCZ Agility v3 120Gb
nobodySpecial
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:15 pm

Re: Cubietruck no working ethernet, keyboard not been recogn

Postby summers » Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:24 pm

Well the image of the chip has the FTDI number on it - its the same chip as the RPi adapator has (FT232R) . Problem with hardware sold on ebay, and some on amazon, is some is a knock off from china. Its hard to say in advance if this is the case.

you also get PL2303 chips that also to usb serial adaptors, and set up as 3.3V devices. usually they work fine, but Prolific device isn't as well respected as the FTDI.

Oh yes forgot to say, I think I bought my FTDI RPi from here http://cpc.farnell.com/ftdi/ttl-232r-rpi/cable-debug-ttl-232-usb-rpi/dp/SC12825, when I got it about £10=€12 or so ...
Last edited by summers on Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
summers
 
Posts: 502
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Cubietruck no working ethernet, keyboard not been recogn

Postby summers » Sat Jun 16, 2018 1:19 pm

Over breakfast this morning had a quick look into if the AZDelivery device stands a chance of working, two things stood out:
. Relatively few passives
. A jumper for 3.3 or 5V
Now i know from my TFDI RPi device, that it must be possible with few passives. Whist my C232HM-DDHSL-0 cable has alot more passives in - but is a beast of a cable.

So anyway downloaded the FT232R datasheet, it does indeed have most of the required components inside, all it needs outside is a few decoupling capacitors, and a ferrite to stablise current, and maybe a few pull up resistors. 3.3 and 5V can be done by a jumper, the USB gives 5V, and the chip has internal 3.3V source, either can be used to drive the output stage, so yes can be done by jumper - there is even a reference design.

So whats the conclusion, the AZDelivery device has about the right complexity needed to be a working FT232R device. Can't speak for the quality of the soldering, anyway may be worth a punt. Can't say I've ever heard of AZDelivery though as a company - if I was to guess, I'd suspect a chinese company.

Anyway up to you, but if you use embedded things, you'll find the cable useful. Great for talking to arm boards, or arduninos and so on. Just wish I could get the C232HM-DDHSL-0 cable to work as JTAG ...

Oh yes googled AZDelivery: https://www.az-delivery.de/products/ftdi-adapter-ft232rl?variant=36542809426, looks like a small company from Bavaria. This has to make it more likely that the device is good.

The device though is generic, probably from china: https://www.ebay.com/itm/FT232RL-FTDI-USB-3-3V-5-5V-to-TTL-Serial-Module-for-Arduino-Mini-Ports-O6P8/332505747040?epid=21012341469&hash=item4d6ae30e60
summers
 
Posts: 502
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Cubietruck no working ethernet, keyboard not been recogn

Postby nobodySpecial » Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:52 pm

So here's a little update:

The AZDelivery adapter, which i bought, was delivered without any cables. So over the weekend
i couldn't do much. I looked at some localstore's for the equipment i needed or perhaps a alternative.
I got no success there, so i went home and tried, after some thinking, i tried to install to rootfs new to the ssd
but in a other way.
My problem was, that I install the arch linux system from iso, like i did for the SD-Card, on the SSD.
The Solution was just to copy the rootfs from SD-Card to the SSD via dd :roll:
After this i had a working network.service and could connect via ssh to the truck 8-)

Thanks for the help :)
nobodySpecial
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:15 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Cubietruck no ethernet, keyboard not been recog

Postby summers » Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:11 pm

Good that you solved.

Cables are fairly easy to get hold of, many of these gadgets come with them. Me though I usually make my own now, that more expensive as you need something to crimp with, and thats a one off tool that starts at maybe 15 euro - and the good ones are far more expensive.

Anyway good solved, I wonder what was wrong before.
summers
 
Posts: 502
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 12:56 pm


Return to Allwinner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests