Missing RPi Compute Module 3 device tree blob in AArch64 img

This forum is for topics dealing with problems with software specifically in the AArch64 repo.

Missing RPi Compute Module 3 device tree blob in AArch64 img

Postby P4U1E » Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:26 pm

Hi,

First time i used the aarch64 version for a CM3 i wasn't able to boot cause the "/dtbs/broadcom/bcm2837-rpi-cm3.dtb" file was missing. I took the other existing one ending with ...-cm3-io3.dtb and renamed it.

I guess the dtb-file is missing? What is the use case of the "io3" dtb-file?
P4U1E
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:14 pm

Re: Missing RPi Compute Module 3 device tree blob in AArch64

Postby lategoodbye » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:20 pm

No, there is no bcm2837-rpi-cm3.dtb in mainline (be aware aarch64 uses the mainline kernel). You cannot run a Compute Module 3 alone. It always need some kind of carrier board. So for the combination CM3 + IO Board V3 we have bcm2837-rpi-cm3-io3.dtb.

https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/ke ... 4b43b8ed94

Edit: But i agree there should be a fix for the boot issue.
lategoodbye
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:24 am

Re: Missing RPi Compute Module 3 device tree blob in AArch64

Postby P4U1E » Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 am

The mainline kernel was one reason to switch.
I used the CM3 with the IO3, thats why i was wondering about the error message on boot.
P4U1E
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:14 pm

Re: Missing RPi Compute Module 3 device tree blob in AArch64

Postby lategoodbye » Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:16 pm

lategoodbye
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:24 am


Return to ARMv8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest